Skip to content

Getting Back on Track (again)

November 20, 2013

My weight has been something I’ve battled with for as long as I remember. I grew up overweight, gained more weight when I went to college and got my first “real job”, joined weight watchers and lost 140 lbs. to reach my goal weight and become lifetime, stopped weight watchers and gained 35 lbs, and now am struggling to lose it again.

I’ve said it time and time again during this journey: “I’m back on track”. But somewhere along the line, something inevitably happens and I stop making progress. Sometimes I feel hypocritical saying “I’m back on track” because I know I’m still struggling even if I am trying to refocus.

This summer I decided I was going to rejoin Weight Watchers. Although I had hit lifetime, because I had gained so much weight, I was going to have to become a paying member again. So I jumped back on and started slowly, but steadily, losing weight again. I liked that rejoining weight watchers helped me break up with the scale again. I tend to get into the habit of being a “daily weigher” when I am really focusing on my weight loss. When I rejoined WW, I stopped weighing at home and only weighed once a week. Over the course of a few months, I lost a little weight, but I could feel myself heading towards an unhealthy path again (don’t eat very much on the days leading up to weigh in and then splurging too much afterwards). This, of course, wasn’t giving me the results that I wanted.

All of that, on top of the fact that I am now planning a wedding and needing to save money for that, led to me deciding to stop Weight Watchers again. I know Weight Watchers works. It worked a miracle for me once. But right now I need to figure out how to do this on my own and how to do it in a healthy way.

Unfortunately, when I stopped going to WW, I also relaxed too much. Because I don’t have a formal weigh in every week, I have decided not to weigh at all and to relax my eating. Not my smartest move!

Here is my plan to get refocused:
Get back on the scale-I know I shouldn’t be reliant on the number, but it will help keep my accountable. I still only want to weigh once or twice a week though.

Drink Water- I used to be so good about this, but I have fallen off the wagon lately. I know the importance of staying hydrated, so I am determined to get back to that.

Eat more fruits and vegetables- Once again, I have just been too relaxed. I love fruits and vegetables. I am still eating a couple of servings of fruit each day, but my vegetable consumption has been really lacking.

Come up with an exercise routine- Because I have been so focused on Half Marathon training, I haven’t really been doing much else. I have managed a strength workout about once a week, but I know that’s not enough. I was doing really well when the weather was nice. I would get up and run in the morning and then go to the gym in the afternoons. But now that it’s cold, I have been running after work instead of early in the morning. I still think this is going to be my plan, but I am going to have to make an effort to make it to the gym every afternoon and only take once rest day a week.

Hopefully making these few small changes will get me focused. I have a wedding dress that I want to look good in! Plus, I definitely don’t want to gain weight because then it won’t fit!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2013 11:58 am

    I love MyFitnessPal! it’s free! it can be a community if you want it to be (friend me if you join, zeelemons) and it keeps me on track. you can customize it so that you can target specific nutrients, being a vegan I track calcium, iron and protein. I’m not one to obsess over calories, this just puts my portions into perspective.

    and you can track your water intake and workouts/set goals :)

    • November 20, 2013 12:28 pm

      I actually have used My Fitness Pal in the past and just rejoined. I’m not sure how much I’ll use it, but I at least like having a place to track my weight and workouts.

      • November 20, 2013 1:26 pm

        Great! I’m happy you are back to finding your groove- you can do it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

