Skip to content

Community

December 7, 2010

Reverb10

December 7 – Community Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011? (Author: Cali Harris)

I am lucky to be a part of several very close communities. My most recent one has come through my church. After moving to Tulsa, I had to search to find a new church. I had gone to the same small church in my hometown since I was a little girl. Now, as an adult, I was faced with forging out on my own to find a church home…on my own. I have gone to the church of Christ forever and know that is where I belong, but finding a church home in Tulsa was a new challenge. I went to the closest one I could find and liked it, but after going for several months, never felt at home. I decided to try another church. Even though I was sitting by myself and hadn’t really formed any close relationships, I just knew this was the new church for me. After some soul searching, I decided I needed to start going to bible classes on Sunday morning before church. This is where I found my new community. I attended the College/Young Professionals class and immediately made friends with a couple in there. They invited me to sit with them at church and then later to join them for dinner after church. I have continued going to this class and meeting new people and it has been a great thing for me.

Next year, I may be faced with meeting new coworkers, if my hopes of finding a new job pan out. If that becomes the case, I hope to form a close community with them. I love my coworkers right now, and I hate to leave them, but I think the time has come for me to move on to something else. I just hope my new coworkers will be okay.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

