Skip to content

So I’ll be waiting for the real thing, I’ll know it by the feeling

February 11, 2011

Confession: I like Valentine’s Day.

Okay, in my present situation, it gets old seeing all of the Valentine’s Day ads and hearing about other people’s plans for Valentine’s Day. I know I’ll be spending my Valentine’s Day alone. It stings a little bit more this year because if I had continued dating the guy I was dating, maybe I would have had a Valentine’s date this year, but I don’t regret ending it.

I have never had a “Valentine”. So, why should I like this day?

It’s the whole idea. I like the idea of having a special day to celebrate love. I like the concept. I’m a sucker for things like that. And I like imagining the day that I don’t have to spend Valentine’s Day alone.

The next time I see a Valentine’s commercial or hear someone talking about Valentine’s Day and I involuntarily start to cringe, I’ll try to remind myself of all of these things.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

