Skip to content

I’ve lived on hope, like a child, walking that mile

February 12, 2011

It has been almost 3 months since I’ve run any kind of distance. Once I started running, I didn’t think I would ever go that long. This leg issue has caused me a lot of trouble. It took forever to finally get it diagnosed and treated. Monday is my last Physical Therapy appointment. I can only hope that my PT gives me the all clear to start running again. I am sure I will have to start slowly. I do hope, however, that I will be able to get up to 5K form by the St. Patrick’s Day run mid-March. It is one of the races I really enjoyed running last year. It runs up and down Brookside here in Tulsa.

I am going to make sure I keep using my foam roller to work these muscles in my ITB and make sure I keep doing my stretching exercises so that I can get back on track. I have been doing the elliptical for 15 minutes at a time because that is the limit my PT put on me. I am hoping this is slowly building my cardio back up. That is what is most frustrating to me. I had built my cardio up to a really good place and I am afraid I lost it all with 3 months off.

Here’s hoping this re-training process goes well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

