Skip to content

Deep inside can you hear that call? Waking your heart and shaking your walls.

March 13, 2011

People are often told not to focus on their faults, but to think of the good traits that they possess. While I agree that we certainly need to realize all of our many strengths, I don’t think it completely benefits us to ignore those things about us that are not so great. In my bible class on Sunday mornings, we have talked a lot recently about the misconception that many non-Christians have that Christians think of themselves as “perfect” and how we wish they could see how untrue that is. I wish they could see how many faults I see in myself and how unclean I am. I am far from perfect, yet I have this awesome God that loves me anyway, and who washes away my imperfections.

In order for our sins to be washed away, however, we must be willing to ask for forgiveness. How can we do this if we don’t realize those things about ourselves that aren’t so great? And how can we make them better? This morning’s church sermon was about Resisting Temptation. As I sat listening to it, I felt my mind drifting to the “seven deadly sins” and wondering which ones of these affect me the most. While my struggle with weight is proof that I struggle with gluttony, and I do fall victim to sloth and pride and the other sins, the one that really impacts me is envy. I so often find myself envious of the people around me. Sometimes I become so envious that I forget to be thankful for the blessings that I have. I am envious of runners who don’t constantly struggle with injury like I have lately and who can train for runs as normal while I am struggling to just get back to 5k form. I envy those people who are dating and married and who have children because I want that so badly for my life. I envy those people who are truly happy with their jobs and those people who don’t have to worry about money.

Why do I say all of this? Because if I look deeply within myself and at my faults, I can try to become a better person.

I think that is important.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

