Skip to content

And when I think that God, his Son not sparing, send Him to die, I scarce can take it in

April 3, 2011

This morning in church, the preacher spoke about servanthood and all of the instances we see of this in the bible. His introductory passage came from John 13: 1-17 in which Jesus washes the apostles feet. This was an act of service that Jesus performed. As he was talking, I tried to picture this event in my mind. I really tried to focus on an image in my mind of Jesus washing the feet of these men. I am grossed out by feet. I don’t like other people’s feet to touch me, regardless of how clean they are. These feet that he was washing were not clean. The very practice of washing feet at this time in history was essential because people wore sandals and walked around on dirt. These feet that Jesus was washing were most likely very dirty. Yet, he performed this act of service. How humbling is it to picture our Savior washing feet? It made me think of how essential it is for us to humble ourselves sometimes in order to hold up our ideals. We must step out of our comfort zones. Doing what is right is rarely the comfortable choice.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

