Skip to content

All my underdogs, we will never be anything but loud

May 13, 2011

Is it better to have several friendships or just a few really close friends?

I sometimes wish that I had more friends, specifically girl friends, who I could go out and do things with here in Tulsa. I think one of the reasons that I don’t meet many guys is that I don’t go out and do things very often and when I do I am either with my male roommate or with my male roommate and some other couples. And while we are just friends, people justifiably assume we are a couple.

But in the same breath, I wouldn’t trade the friendships that I have for more friends, or even for a relationship. My friends mean the world to me. I am blessed to still be friends with 3 of my best friends from high school-Adam, Joel, and Lindsey. Adam is my cousin and we grew up together. We were the same age, in the same grade at the same school, and much more like brother and sister than cousins half the time. In middle school we really started becoming close friends though and that has lasted. We went to college together. I have so many memories with him that I will neve forget. My favorite memory with him is our Washington D.C. road trip. Joel and I didn’t become friends until our senior year of high school, and didn’t really become as close as we are now until we became rommates last year. We went to senior prom together, joined weight watchers together, and became runners together. Lindsey and I started becoming friends in middle school and I like to view our friendship as growing slowly from that point forward. I don’t think she knows how much she inspires me and how much I look up to her. I wish we lived in the same town so we could do things together more often.

From my friends from high school, I have been blessed with two additional friendships, Nathan (Lindsey’s husband) and Minnie (Adam’s fiance’). It has been so nice to see the people that are close to me find people who compliment them so well and who make them happy. I hope I am lucky enough to find that type of person for me some day. And I hope that person can be accepted into my group of friends like they fhave been. Nathan is always there with some joke (even if it is corny) to make me smile and Minnie always has a supportive comment right when I need it.

When I went away to college, I didn’t think it would be possible to find friends like those that I left behind from high school. And then I met Katie. We were thrown together as random roommates our freshman year. I liked her from the first time I met her, but I never thought we would be close friends because we were too different. It didn’t take long for her to become one of my best friends, however. And while she is 4 hours away, she is truly the best friend I could ask for and I know she is always here for me.

I can’t write about my closest friends without at least writing a few sentences about my family. I have two sisters, Danielle and Kristin, who I consider among my closest friends. I also have cousins on both sides of my family who are just as much friends to me as they are family. I won’t write about each one of them, but I hope they know how much them mean to me.

So that’s it. The people I consider my closest friends. I have a few other friends and many other people in my life, but only a select few who I know care for me as much as I care for them.

That’s okay with me, though. If you had friends like mine, you wouldn’t ask for more.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2011 11:38 am

    You talk about how Lindsey is such an inspiration to you. I hope you know how much of an inspiration that you are to me. You have worked so hard to to accomplish the things that you have. From getting your master’s to losing all the weight that you have to becoming the amazing runner that you have to becoming one of my best friends and an awesome roommate. I know that sometimes you get down on yourself because you don’t accomplish something as quickly as you think you should and you feel like you don’t always live up to people’s expectations. You exceed peoples expectations. You inspire me to work harder and be better and I know that other people feel the same way. You truly are an amazing person and an even better friend.

Leave a Reply

