Skip to content

Long live the walls we crashed through while the kingdom lights shined just for me and you

May 15, 2011

Ever have one of those days where you just feel empowered?

Yesterday I ran not one, but two, 5k’s, and beat my personal best in both of them. My roommate and I woke up and ran the Rooster Days Run in Broken Arrow yesterday morning. I ran it in 27:49. As always, I started out fast and then was out of steam by the end of the race. It’s how I typically race. I try to run slower at the beginning, but I get way too pumped up. Last night, we ran the Full Moon 5k here in Tulsa. My goal going into it was to run it in under 30 minutes and not try to run too fast since I’d already ran one race. Then I got started and felt energized from the people around me. I ended up finishing it in 27:57. My leg hurt a little bit towards the end of the race and immediately afterwards, but not enough for me to regret doing two races in a day.

In between the races I went down to Beggs to visit my family for my niece, Lexi’s 2nd birthday party. I am constantly reminded how blessed I am to have the family I have. They are so supportive of my running and my weight loss. It was a really good party. Miss Lexi had a great time even though she was sick.

I feel good today. A little sore, but nothing that a day of rest won’t cure. Hopefully I’ll feel good enough to knock out another run tomorrow.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2011 12:27 pm

    Congratulations! My wife and son and I ran the Full Moon last night. It was the first 5K for all of us. I did it in 28:10, so you beat me! I’m excited to enter the world of running… Never thought I’d be doing this at 39. 🙂

    God bless!

  2. May 15, 2011 1:05 pm

    Congrats! MAJOR accomplishment!

    T.

Leave a Reply

