Skip to content

Runnin’ barefoot in a summer shower, ponytail dancin’, I can’t help it

May 18, 2011

Two posts in one day! Aren’t we all lucky?

This is actually something I’ve been wanting to put on here for a while and I have time tonight, so I’m making myself do it.

We all know I love lists. We all also know that I love running.

The following is a list of some of my most desired running goals:

1) Run a Half Marathon- I know I have blogged about this before. I was originally supposed to run my first Half Marathon on May 1st, but because of an injury to my ITB, I wasn’t able to do it. I now plan on running my first Half in November. I could probably train and run one sooner than that, but I really want to make sure I do it right. I want to take it slow and not risk injuring my leg again. Plus, the Route 66 is here in Tulsa, so it is convenient, which will be nice for my first Half.

2) Run a race in all 50 states. I know this is ambitious. Especially for someone who hasn’t even been to all 50 states. As of right now, I have only ran in Oklahoma. I think it will be easy to do the nearby states (Texas, Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri), but it will be a challenge for me when it comes to moving into the further states.

3) Do a Disney Race. I keep seeing the ads in magazines and seeing people blog about it. I want to do a Disney run, preferably a Half Marathon. I have checked out Run Disney and there are a few options. Who knows? Maybe I’ll get ambitious and run one at both Disneyland and Disneyworld.

4) Participate in a Distance Relay. This may be my most ambitious goal. My roommate and I went and saw a documentary about the Hood to Coast relay and the idea started rolling through my head. The idea of a distance relay is that it is a 24 hour race, usually about 200 miles long, that you and a team of people complete. You have to run more than one leg. There are team vans and running exchanges and all kinds of fun. There are a few problems. One of them being that the closest relays are Texas, Colorado, and Nebraska (I think), which makes planning something like that much more difficult. Another problem is that they are often really competitive to get into. Perhaps the biggest problem is that they usually require teams of 7-12 people. I know several casual runners, but the only people who I feel would take consider this seriously are me, my roommate, and one of my cousins. That is nowhere near enough people. I need to meet more runners.

Of course, I also always have the goal of beating my time in my 5ks. Currently, my best time is 27:49. I guess I can aim for 27:30, right?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

