Skip to content

Should I give up or should I just keep chasing pavements, even if it leads nowhere?

May 25, 2011

It has been a busy and hectic week. That’s how the end of the school year always is. I had intentions of blogging last night, but I instead was glued to my TV as the threat of tornadoes loomed in our area. So…here’s what’s been going on with me.

Weight Loss

After gaining weight for over a month, I finally have buckled down the past few weeks. This isn’t to say I’m denying myself. I am just following Weight Watchers like I should be and not going crazy. I still got to have some amazing Mexican food this week, including chips and salsa. The past 3 weeks I have lost 1, .4, and 2.2 respectively. I loved seeing the 2.2 this week, especially since I weighed a day tonight, which is a day early.  Hoping I can stay motivated.

Running

After doing the Aquarium Run on Saturday, I took Sunday as a rest day and then came out Monday ready to run. The weather was really nice. It was in the lower 80’s and cloudy. I decided to run at a park that was only a mile loop because of the chance of pop-up thunderstorms. I decided it would be easier to make it to my car if something came up there, rather than if I was halfway around a 3 mile loop. I upped my distance .25 and ran 4 miles this week. I did it in 40 minutes. I hope I can keep that pace up as I continue to lengthen my distance. I’m not officially on any kind of training schedule, but I am gradually trying to add distance. I won’t officially start training for the Half Marathon until the end of July. Until then, it’s all me. Yesterday, I didn’t do any working out at all because I had errands to run before the storms hit, and then, like I said, I was glued to my TV. Today, I ran at the same park with a mile loop. I only did 3 miles. About halfway through my first mile, dark clouds rolled in and it rained a little, but it cleared up pretty fast, so I kept running.

Job Hunt

I got a call at the end of last week about interviewing for a job in Oklahoma City. I scheduled an interview and made my plans. I then received a follow up call telling me exactly what the position was for. It wasn’t for the position I had applied for. It was for a teaching position. I am looking to get out of the classroom, so I am definitely not wanting to relocate just to keep a teaching position. I asked them to keep my application and to keep me in mind if anything else comes up.

Today, I received a voicemail (at 11:11, which I thought meant it was good luck) from the job I had really wanted to interview for. When I called back, they told me they were only interviewing next Friday. That is my last day of work before summer break. As much as I would love to go interview, I don’t see how I can logistically do it. We only get one day to pack up our classrooms for the summer. I also need to stay on good terms with my current job in case I don’t find something else. So, I talked to the job recruiter there and she said they had three other applicants who were interviewing. She said they would let the interviewer know of my situation and if she doesn’t think any of the other three are right for the position, she will contact me. It kind of sucks, but at least it is not a definite no. I just have to make sure I am doing what’s right for me.

Other

I’m going to Dallas this weekend to see my best friend/former roommate. I am so  excited for a long weekend and a chance to get away. I just hope I can make a few good eating choices (I’m not asking for the whole weekend…just a few!). Plus…she said she’s gonna take me to a party with hot single surgeons. What more can I ask for?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 9:09 pm

    Hey! I know life can be hectic, but I hope everything works out with you. I am assuming you are from Oklahoma, me too! The weather was insane last night. My hometown got hit really bad. I randomly fell upon your blog, but I wanted to wish you good luck with everything!

    • May 25, 2011 9:27 pm

      Thanks! I am from Tulsa. We missed the brunt of the storms, but we were worried for a while. I checked out your blog. Good luck to you, too!

Leave a Reply

