Skip to content

Taking a break from all your worries sure would help a lot

June 15, 2011

Today was a better day.

It’s amazing what getting out and interacting people will do for you.

No really…laying around and watching Netflix all day has it’s perks (1-saving me money, 2-keeping me endlessly entertained with TV shows I should have watched, but didn’t…Brothers and Sisters is my show of the moment). But it can be lonely and boring, too.

This was compounded by the fact that I did Monday and Tuesday’s workouts on the treadmill at my apartment fitness center. So, this morning, I set my alarm for far too early when I could have slept in (7:00). I ended up waking up at 6:45 and was excited about running, so I got up and got ready and drove over to the park closest to my apartment. I got out and started running, completely excited about this run. And then it hit me. It was miserable outside. At 7:15 in the morning, it was completely miserable. It was hot and humid and typical Oklahoma summer weather. Gross. After the first mile, I was drenched in sweat, but I kept going. After the second mile, I was cursing the bugs that kept going into my mouth because I was panting (I’m typically a closed mouth breather, but it was so hot…). After the third mile I was thanking the Lord that I had only decided to run 3 miles this morning. I was really glad to have not run on the treadmill this morning, but I wish it would have been more enjoyable. I also wish that the bugs wouldn’t have found me so irresistible this morning. We’ll pretend it was because I was running so fast they didn’t see me. Yeah…that sounds good.

After a much necessary shower and a 4 points plus breakfast burrito and grapes (yum!) that I ate while watching a DVR’d episode of Covert Affairs (I am only slightly addicted to TV, which I’ve heard might kill me, or something), I was ready to start my day. I drove over to Fleet Feet to pick up a Race Shirt that I had a voucher for from a few months ago. Not sure why it took them so long to get it in, but I really wanted this shirt. I also picked up a Sweaty Band because I’ve been wanting one for a while, and the latest issue of OK Sports and Fitness. After a quick run by my school to look for some missing library books (which I didn’t find), I went to the library to pick up some more summer reading.

The rest of my day was spent being lazy in front of the TV and reading on the balcony. I also enjoyed a yummy lunch of salad w/black beans and shredded cheese and a dinner of baked tilapia w/cajun seasoning, spinach, and garlic toast.

Now I’m watching Cheers on Netflix with the roommate and trying to distract myself from the fact that I have a big time interview tomorrow.

Ahh, Summer Days.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

