Skip to content

Seasons come and seasons go, but I will never change

June 18, 2011

I have this problem with sleeping through the night. It doesn’t happen all the time, but once in a while I will have trouble. I will usually fall asleep easily and then wake up several times throughout the night and sometimes be awake for an hour or more before falling back asleep.

Last night was one of those nights.

This made waking up when my alarm went off at 6:30 extremely difficult. But I really wanted to run outside. And if you want to run outside in Oklahoma in the summer, you have to get up early.

After several minutes of getting ready (getting dressed, brushing my teeth, brushing my unruly hair into a ponytail), I was ready to fill up my water bottle and grab my banana before heading out the door. I don’t typically eat much before I run unless I am doing longer runs. Since I am still building back my mileage and I’m still not up much past 4 miles, a banana is usually good enough.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Laced up and ready to go.

I decided to try the Turnpike Trail. I have heard it’s one of the more challenging trails in Tulsa. I parked a park that links up with the trail and started off. It was 82 and humid. Yuck. There were a few hills throughout the run, but it wasn’t too bad. I still don’t have a Garmin (remember poor, Oklahoma teacher), so I just wore my regular watch. I didn’t have a way of measuring my distance, so I just ran for time. I ran 25 minutes and then turned around and came back. I ended up making it back in 20 minutes. I usually run my first half of my runs faster, plus it was miserably hot on the way back, so I was pleased with shaving 5 minutes off of my time.

Overall I liked the trail. I would have liked to run it further. Hopefully when I build up my mileage, I can. If you run to the end of the trail, you can actually rent a bicycle for free. My goal eventually is to run to that point, rent a bicycle and ride it up and back another trail that hooks up with the Turnpike Trail and then run back. I’m ambitious.

On the way out of the park, I snapped a picture.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This should have been a quick process, but it actually included me stopping in the middle of the road and banging on my camera several times to get it to turn on.

I’m handy with a camera.

After a much needed shower, I rewarded myself with my overnight oats I had prepared last night. I usually put banana in it, but I had already eaten one, so I opted for a little splenda and a 1/2 Tbsp. of Natural Peanut Butter. I just bought it yesterday. I still haven’t decided if 1/2 Tbsp. was enough or if I should have put a full Tbsp. in. This is the first time in several months that I’ve let myself buy real peanut butter. I have self control issues when it comes to peanut butter (picture me, a jar of peanut butter and a spoon). It’s not pretty. Hopefully I can control myself.

I wanted to take a picture, but I was starving, so I forgot.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also finished off a container of watermelon. And there is my chocolate coffee in my pretty orange mug.

I made a trip to a small, local farmer’s market today. I want to hit up one of the bigger ones in town later this week, but I found a few things I wanted.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

New potatoes, a zucchini, and a squash. Yum!

After a lot of laying around watching White Collar, I ran to the store to grab some ingredients for my contribution for our Father’s Day cookout tomorrow.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used my New Potatoes to make a potato salad. Not sure how it’s going to taste. I guess we’ll see tomorrow! It looks pretty, though! And it’s WW approved!

While at the store, I really wanted a candy bar. I wasn’t hungry and I didn’t need one, but I wanted one. Instead, I spent way too much money on magazines. It was a better option for me. I am a magazine addict and it made me feel better about not buying that candy bar.

This evening my roommate is out for guys night, so I’m enjoying some Lifetime Movie Network. and trying to get over this blah feeling I’m having. It is a combo of lack of sleep, back pain, and a migraine. I think it’s going to be an early night for me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

