Skip to content

It’s gonna be a long hot summer…

June 24, 2011

I don’t like the treadmill.

Funny, because when I started running a few years ago, I did Couch to 5K completely on the treadmill. That was all I knew for a long time. And then I alternated between the treadmill and running outside. When I trained for the Route 66 Quarter Marathon, I did most of my running outside, but when I trained for the Tulsa Run, I did most of my running on the treadmill.

Coming back from my ITB injury, I have primarily run outside. I have built myself up to over 4 miles when running outside, yet when I get on the treadmill, I struggle to go that distance. It is boring and I just can’t get into it.

Running outside has taken a little sacrifice. It is really hot in Oklahoma. Not only is it really hot, but it is really humid. I am a teacher, so I have summers off. This means I could sleep in…although sleeping in to me is about 8:00. Instead, this summer I have been setting my alarm for 6:30 so that I can run outside before it becomes unbearable. Usually the beginning of my runs are okay and by the end it is pretty darn hot.

Then you see a forecast that looks like this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Courtesy of KOTV.

It is going to be miserable this week. And it’s still June.

So now comes the question. Do I tough it out? Do I set the alarm 30 minutes earlier and see if that will help? Or do I just give in to the treadmill?

How do you cope with the summer heat?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

