Skip to content

On a blanket in a field of green, oh the crickets sing a song to me

June 25, 2011

I don’t run with music.

I love music. I live for good music. I don’t know if you’ve picked up on it, but the titles to all of my blog entries are lyrics from songs. I believe 100% that a song can change my mood. That’s how much music influences me. I could get into my obsession with certain singers and the lengths I have gone to in order to see them and meet them…but let’s not go there right now.

Back to the point.

When I started running, I bought a Zune. Yes, a Zune. All of you Apple snobs step back. I like to fight back against the “man” and go the less popular route sometimes. So, I bought a Zune and I ran with it. And I loved it. I made a running playlist. I let music power me through several 5ks.

And then last summer hit. And it was hot. And my ear buds wouldn’t quite stay in my ears because I sweat a lot. And I was doing a running group and I didn’t like to use my Zune while doing it. So I got in the habit of running without it.

And guess what?

I liked it.

I liked being able to hear what was going on around me. During a race, I like listening to people talking to each other and encouraging each other to keep going. I like being able to hear the people cheering on the sidelines. And when I’m just running during the week, I like listening to the sounds going on in nature or the cars driving by.

I also feel safer. Especially this summer now that I am running on some trails. While these are paved trails that are specific for running and biking, there are certain areas of them that are a little bit remote. I like that I am fully aware of what is going on around me. Plus, I am able to hear when a biker is coming up behind me and am able to get over which keeps both of us safe.

One of the most important things is that I get a lot of thinking done when I am running. Turns out when you run for 30 minutes or longer without music, you can think about a lot of stuff. You can make a lot of decisions. You can write papers in your head (which I did when I was in grad school) or blog posts (which I do now).

Also…I have become a little OCD about certain things. I tried running with my Zune a few times this spring and I just couldn’t handle it. I couldn’t handle the wires bumping up against my arms as I was running. It bothered me when arm holder thing (I know that’s the technical term…lol) started slipping.

Plus, it’s one less thing for me to remember on race day. And I can be pretty forgetful, so that’s a big one for me.

So, while I understand people’s need to run with music, I’ll stick to running in silence for now. Turns out there’s a lot more going on than I ever knew.

 

 

Leave a Reply

