Skip to content

Laughing loud on a carnival ride, driving around on a Saturday night

June 27, 2011

This weekend was pretty low key.

Friday night my roommate and I tried out a Thai Restaurant we’d never been to- Lanna Thai. It was okay. Not sure I’ll go back anytime soon, but it wasn’t terrible.

Saturday I woke up at 6 and ran on the Turnpike Trail. I made it quite a bit further than I did last time. I actually made it to the point where the trail ends and merges with another Tulsa Trail. I felt really good the first half of the run. Running back was hard. I had upped my distance quite a bit and it was starting to heat up. But, I made it. I ended up running for 65 minutes. Usually I’d equate that to about 6 miles, but I think my second half was pretty slow and I’m not sure I kept the 10 minute mile pace. Oh well. I’ll just think of it this way…I ran for 65 minutes! That’s the longest run I’ve done in several months, which is really nice.

After that run, I spent most of my day recovering on my couch. 🙂  I did pull myself away from the comfort long away to have dinner with my parents and go with them to a Tulsa Talons arena football game. I’d never been to one and it was fun. Not quite like real football, but it did get me excited for college football season. It’s right around the corner you know? Go Pokes! I felt a little bit lame as a single 25 year old hanging out with my parents on a Saturday night, but then I realized how much fun I was having with them, so I decided not to worry about it.

Sunday I slept in all the way to 7:00! I went to bible class at church and then it was my Sunday to volunteer in the church nursery. We only had 2 babies this Sunday, so it was pretty easygoing. I did a lot more laying around on Sunday. I’m making myself sound extremely lazy…but it’s just so hot. I didn’t feel like getting out in the heat at all. When my roommate went over to the gym to run, I pulled up a combo strength training/yoga video from OnDemand and did it. I did some Pi/Yo classes last summer and really enjoyed them. I think I would enjoy doing yoga or Pi/Yo again, but I’m trying to save money right now, so I don’t want to pay for them. So, for now, I will take advantage of having the videos to do them with. It’s not quite the same, but it will work. I am pretty sore today from working new muscles, though.

Today I got up and went over to the gym to get 4 miles in on the treadmill. I did my second day of work at my new part time job (Target) from 10-2 today. I have never done cashiering or retail, so it is a learning curve for me, but I think I did pretty good. The day flew by, too. It will be nice to make a little extra money to help pay some bills. This evening I’m meeting my sister to train her on Couch to 5k. She wants someone to do it with her to help hold her accountable, and who am I to turn down extra exercise opportunity? I need to do whatever I can to lose these last 5 pounds. I was hoping to be at my goal weight by my birthday, and it’s looking less and less likely by the week.

Cross your fingers that I survive the 100+ heat while we’re running. Luckily it’s intervals.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

