Skip to content

Only in America, where we dream as big as we want to

July 4, 2011

Happy 4th of July!

This is my second favorite holiday, after Christmas. I look forward to it, mainly because of the fireworks. I am a sucker for fireworks. There is something magical about them. Okay…so I’m a little bit of a kid when it comes to fireworks. And snow. And probably a lot of other things that I shouldn’t be. But back to the point. I love fireworks. So, I love this Holiday.

After church and work yesterday, I celebrated an early Independence Day with my family and friends. We cooked out and spent the evening hanging out and enjoying each others company.

I ate way too much. Dessert is my downfall at family parties. And I had dessert. A lot of dessert. I had grape salad (I made it using fat free cream cheese, greek yogurt, splenda, and grapes), key lime pie, a couple chocolate chip cookies, a couple rice krispie treats, and some cake. Yeah…you can judge me if you want. I’m okay with that.

I did play some basketball last night. That burned a few calories, I’m sure. I haven’t played basketball in a few years, but we played a few games of HORSE. It was fun just shooting around again. I miss playing sports. As much as I love running, it’s nice to mix it up every now and then.

One of my cousins shot of a few fireworks, too, so it was the perfect ending to the night.

Best of all, I got to spend the time with my family and friends. I am constantly reminded of the blessings I have in my life in the forms of the people that surround me.

This morning, I got up and ran the Fleet Feet Firecracker 5k. I recapped it on my racing page. I was so glad to do this run. It will always hold a special place in my heart. It was the first 5k I walked in. Last year my sisters did it with me. It is a special run for me. The next run on the list? The Bedlam 10k-July30. I am really looking forward to this one. I need to get myself prepared for it.

My agenda for the rest of the day-Laundry, Laying on the couch, and hopefully catching some fireworks.

Don’t forget the reason we celebrate this holiday. And be safe!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

