Skip to content

It won’t change the world, but it just might change your life

July 11, 2011

You have a lot of time to think when you’re running over 6 1/2 miles.

You can think about positive things or negative things. Or, in my case this morning, you can think about both.

Even as someone who has lost 148 pounds and whose self esteem has improved, I still go through a large amount of negative self-talk on a daily basis. I am my own worst self critic.

Luckily for me, my positive thinking came on the last half of my run, just when I needed it the most.

I came up with the idea for the rest of this update as I was running. I know my weight loss journey is not completely over, but as I hit my goal weight this week, I am so close to being there. So I will leave you with:

The things I loved about my weight loss journey:

-The first time I was able to shop in the regular part of the store and not the plus size section.

-Dropping out of the size 20’s, and then out of the teens and into the single digits.

-Being able to wear a size small!

-Sitting in an airplane seat and having to tighten the belt instead of loosen it all of the way.

-Falling in love with running.

-The first time someone called me skinny.

-Learning that there is so much more to food than I ever knew.

-Being able to share clothes with people.

-Learning to love myself, even if I have imperfections.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 11, 2011 10:48 am

    I know I’ve told you before that I’m proud of you, but words will never be able to explain exactly HOW proud of you I am! You are amazing! You are one of my heroes! You are an inspiration! I’m SO proud of all you’ve accomplished, and all you will continue to accomplish! I’m proud to call you my sister!!

Leave a Reply

