Skip to content

Seems you’re the only one who knows what it’s like to be me

July 15, 2011

Tomorrow my cousin is getting married.

More importantly, tomorrow one of my best friends is getting married.

Adam and I were born 2 months and 4 days apart. We grew up in the same small town. We went to the same school starting in kindergarten.

We grew up doing family things together. My cousins and I have always been really close. My sisters and I would go spend the night at “the boys” house and they would come spend the night at our house. We made up elaborate games that we played (not just house, but cruise ship, storm chasers, talk show, and several other ridiculous scenarios). We are still all extremely close.

Even thought we were in school together, we weren’t really “friends” in school until sometime in middle school when our friend groups meshed together. We grew closer as we got into high school and formed a close group of friends. We took classes together. We did family stuff together. We were in band together. We were together a lot. He was honestly my best friend when I graduated high school. In my Senior Scrapbook, I dedicated my “someone special” page to him. This is what I wrote: “Adam has been not only my cousin, by my best friend. My high school years wouldn’t have been the same without him.”

I was so happy when he changed his mind about where he was going to go to college and decided to go to OSU. That just meant we would be going to the same school for longer. When we got to Stillwater, we formed new friendships with other people, but we still found time to have “cousin nights” and to go to all of the football games together. I think we got closer during our years at OSU.

After Adam graduated from Grad school and decided to move to Tulsa, he, our friend Joel, and I moved into an apartment together. We lived together for a year. During this time he met and fell in love with Minnie. After our lease was up, he moved in with Minnie, and now they are getting married. 🙂

I am so happy for both of them. I look at them and see how happy they are together and I know it is such a blessing that they found one another.

I wish Adam and Minnie all the happiness that they both deserve.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2011 5:55 pm

    Hope you’re having a wonderful time at the wedding! Sweet story of love 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Life’s an open road, you gotta take it « Experience Life With Me

Leave a Reply

