Skip to content

Somewhere near nowhere is my favorite thing to do

July 19, 2011

It felt so good to run outside this morning.

Because of some medical issues I hadn’t ran outside in almost a week until this morning. I did the treadmill yesterday just to make sure I would be up for it. I was, and it was so good. I mean…it was hot and humid, even at 6am, but I am kind of used to that by now. But it was nice to get 6.5 miles in.

I still haven’t tired of overnight oats after a long run on a hot day. It just tastes so good.

Today I had plans to go shopping with my mom. I had a nice surprise when she stopped by my apartment to pick me up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Vegetables from my mom and dad’s garden! I was expecting the squash and cucumbers, but not the tomatoes and peppers. My parents plant a huge garden every year. Along with these vegetables, they plant corn, green beans, cantaloupe, watermelon, bell peppers, and probably something else that I’m forgetting. Because of the extreme heat and drought that we’re going through this summer, it hasn’t been doing great, but they are getting a few things. Homegrown tomatoes are my favorite things about the summer. I am super excited about these. They will probably both be gone tomorrow. I already ate one of the squash tonight with dinner. I sliced it and cooked it in one tsp. of Olive Oil with a little bit of salt and pepper. Delicious.

The shopping trip went well. We ran to Academy where I picked up some Body Glide, a couple packets of Jelly Belly Sports Beans, and a couple of Gu’s. I want to start experimenting with them on my longer runs so I will be prepared when my Half Marathon training starts. We then went to Home Depot where she picked up some lumber for a craft project she is doing. Next was the mall where I got my free birthday gift from Sephora. After a quick trip to Kohls, we stopped at Panera for lunch. I got the Lemon Chicken Orzo soup and a classic salad. I was pleasantly surprised when I got home to find out my lunch was only 5 points. It was nice spending the day with my mom.

Tonight I tried Tofu Shirataki noodles for the first time. I really wanted to like them, but I couldn’t get over the consistency. They were too chewy. I used laughing cow cheese wedges as my “sauce” and I did really enjoy that though. I will have to try it with some regular pasta.

Have you ever tried a “guilt free” food swap that just didn’t work?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tricia permalink
    July 25, 2011 1:44 pm

    I am a huge fan of mac and cheese and missed it very much during my WW days. I decided to try Hungy Girl’s mac and cheese swap that has broccoli and cauliflower. I wanted to like it so badly but it just wasn’t the same. Needless to say, I have been having way too much mac and cheese these days. I’m sure I’ll regret that when I return to WW in January.

Leave a Reply

