Skip to content

Worth the wait

July 21, 2011

I’m glad I got that gripey post out of my way this morning. Now I can get down to business. 🙂

My run this morning was extra hard. It was one of the ones that I’ve done before. A little over 6 miles. It shouldn’t have been a big deal, but multiple factors were working against me this morning. It has been hot every day that I’ve run this summer, but the humidity was unbearable this morning. The air felt so thick that it was hard to breathe. I meant to grab a banana on my way out the door, but only made it out with my Jelly Belly Sports Beans, so I was hungry about halfway through my run.

Hungry+Nauseous from the heat=Miserable.

But I made it. My legs were a little like jello and I was a little lightheaded, but I made it.

After a quick shower when I got back, I mixed up my ingredients for a Green Monster smoothie. These are new to me, so mine are pretty basic. Mine included a handful of spinach, 1 cucumber, 1 banana, 4 strawberries, 1/4 cup old fashioned oats, 1/2 cup skim milk, and a few ice cubes. I then realized that my roommate was still sleeping and it would be a very un-friendlike thing to do if I woke him up using the blender. So I drank a G2 Gatorade and my coffee and waited…and waited….and waited. Okay, so I didn’t really wait that long. And I could’ve gone ahead and eaten something else, but I had my heart set on that smoothie. After that horribly long wait, I blended it up. It made a HUGE smoothie, but it was just what I needed after losing so many calories in my run. It was a little too cucumbery…so next time I’ll probably add more fruit and/or only half of a cucumber, but it was definitely edible.

News from the chiropractor was about what I expected. I have a minor case of scoliosis, which is the cause of any back pain that I have. I also have some constricted bones in my neck, which could be causing some of my migraines. So, he did an adjustment and set me up on a plan to come back for a few more weeks. I go to my Dr. next week with the intention of trying to get step down my dosage of my daily migraine medicine, so I am hoping this will help. I am just hoping my insurance covers some of these visits.

After the Chiropractor, I got a massage. It was really nice and relaxing…and I really needed it, especially in my legs and my neck. I should make an effort to go more often.

Not a bad way to spend my day.

 

Also, I’m looking for advice. I want to customize my blog, but I have no idea of how to go about doing it. Anyone have any tips or suggestions?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

