Skip to content

Enchiladas and Ice Cream and Cake…Oh My!

July 24, 2011

I had a fabulous birthday!

I started off my day with an easy 3 mile run on the treadmill. I had slept in until 7:30 (that’s sleeping in for me) and it was just too hot by then to run outside. I couldn’t think of a better way to start year 26 than with running, so that started the day on the right foot.

After a nice relaxing shower, I made a Banana Scramble minus the bread. I also forgot to mix in the peanut butter before cooking it, so it didn’t stick together into a patty very well, but I planned on eating it with a fork anyways, so no loss there. I topped it with the unused peanut butter. I may like it better this way actually.

I spent a little bit of time lazing around this morning since I missed church (I really had no excuse…I should have gone). I then made the 45 minute trip to my parents’ house for my birthday lunch. Every year for my birthday, my mom makes me Homemade Enchiladas, beans, and rice. It is finished off with Red Velvet Cake (this year she did half red velvet and half white) topped with her delicious homemade frosting and homemade ice cream (a choice of vanilla, strawberry, butterfinger, and my favorite-banana). Yum! I ate too much, but it was so good. I’ll probably be partaking in some leftovers pretty soon. My birthday only comes around once a year, right? I’ll pay for it later this week when I go weigh in, but today I don’t care.

Then there was the opening of gifts.

I got these from my sister, Danielle.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love orange flowers!

My brother and sister-in-law got me this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve never been a hat wearer (I think I have a funny shaped head), but I see people running with visors a lot, so I may give this a try. And it is especially fitting for the Bedlam Run next weekend (more about that later). I was actually really excited about the body spray and lotion because I am almost out of lotion and I have a slight obsession with perfumes and body sprays.

My mom and dad, and both of my sisters and their husbands got me amazon gift cards. I was super excited about these. These, in combination with some other gift cards I had were enough to nudge me into biting the bullet and buying my Garmin Watch. When I got home I got online and did it really fast. I had done a lot of research about it before today, but I was afraid if I sat and thought about it a lot today I wouldn’t do it, so I just made a quick decision and bought it.

So this is on its way and should be here in a little over a week. Just in time for Half Marathon training.

 

I also got a card from my Grandparents with this little note at the bottom from my Grandma: “Hope you have many more Happy Birthdays and that this is the year you find the love of your life!!”.

Oh Grandma.

She makes me laugh.

Seriously though. I can’t imagine a better way to spend a birthday than surrounded by those people who I love the most. And I got tons of calls, texts, facebook messages, and tweets. It was a great day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2011 12:33 pm

    wow ive got a hunger for enchiladas now!!

  2. July 29, 2011 1:23 pm

    Girl you’re gonna love the Garmin 405! It’s so easy for the technically challenged (me) but it also has lots of tricks for people who are obsessed with running stats. Just press the start button, press and hold training until loading satellites shows up (to get the satellites), press start again, and run 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. July Goals « Experience Life With Me

Leave a Reply

