Skip to content

Running and Reading

July 25, 2011

I woke up way before my alarm went off this morning. As in 5am…opposed to 6. I tried to get back to sleep, but had no luck, so I got up and got ready to run.

I am trying to scale back my running a little bit this week so that my legs will be fresh for my 10k on Saturday. So, I cut 2 miles off of my usual run and did 4.5 miles this morning. I ran it faster than usual though, so I may have defeated my purpose. I can feel it in my legs this afternoon. About halfway through my run I felt a few raindrops and I thought we may actually get some rain, but no luck. All it did was make it more humid.

Today I knocked a few things off of my to-do list. I ran some things over to the Recycling Center. One of my New Years Resolutions was to start recycling. I didn’t end up doing it until last month and I’m starting slow with aluminum cans and magazines/newspapers, but I am getting there. I then stopped by the Salvation Army with a sack of clothes to donate. I also ran by Target for some produce and by Hobby Lobby for some crafting supplies. I’m not very crafty, but I’m giving it a try.

I was extremely lazy this afternoon. In fact, I read a whole book. I was really excited to see that Ann Brashares had written a follow-up novel to the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants sequel, so I requested it from the library a few weeks ago and it finally came this weekend. It was just the book I needed to read today. Characters I was familiar with, an easy read, and something that drew me in and made me not want to put the book down. If you’ve read the series, you should check it out.

My meals today were:

Breakfast-Smoothie:1 Banana, 6 Strawberries, 1 cucumber, 1/2 cup milk, and some ice.

Lunch-Salad:Spinach Leaves, Turkey, Black Beans, Baby Carrots, Salsa, and a Sandwich Thin.

Dinner-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tilapia w/Lemon Pepper Seasoning, Squash (from my parents’ garden) cooked in a skillet with olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper, and Garlic Bread.

 

I am loving Squash made this way. And Tilapia is my go to, low-points dinner.

 

What is your favorite way of cooking summer vegetables?

What have been your favorite summer reads?


2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2011 10:10 am

    that smoothie sounds fantastic 🙂

Leave a Reply

