Skip to content

Don’t Stop

July 26, 2011

I woke up in the middle of the night last night and heard rain! Not just a little bit of rain, but an actual rainfall! I guess my wishes for rain yesterday finally came true.

Unfortunately, I used it as an excuse to turn my alarm off (who knew if it would be okay weather to run at 6am, right?).

When I got out of bed at 7, I wasn’t feeling too good, so I skipped my morning run and decided to go for a light, comfort food breakfast of egg beaters and toast with a side of blueberries and bananas. I told myself that if I felt up to it I would run this afternoon, but after laying around for a few hours watching Netflix (it’s my last few days of summer break…don’t judge me too much), I decided I’d go ahead and head over to the fitness center.

 

I am not a huge fan of the treadmill, but I actually enjoyed my treadmill run today. I intended to do 3 miles at 6.2, which is my usual speed on the treadmill. Instead, I decided to mix it up and push myself a little bit, so my run looked like this:

0-.25 mile at 6.2

.25-.5 mile at 6.3

.5-.75 mile at 6.4

.75-1.0 mile at 6.5

1.0-1.25 mile at 6.6

1.25-1.5 mile at 6.7

1.5-1.75 mile at 6.8

1.75-2.0 mile at 6.9

2.0-2.25 mile at 7.0

2.25-2.5 mile at 6.8

2.5-2.75 mile at 6.6

2.75-3.0 mile at 6.4

3.0-3.25 mile walking at 4.0

It was a nice workout and it seemed to go by fast because I was constantly changing my speed. It’s nice to mix things up every now and then.

I enjoyed lunch at Genghis Grill this afternoon with three of my friends from work. Two of us have July birthdays, so the other two wanted to take us out to celebrate. I love Genghis Grill because I can eat healthy when I go there. I can control what I put in my bowl. And I can plan ahead of time using their website and see how many points my bowl will be (not that it varies much because I usually get the same thing). The surprised us by telling the waitress it was our birthday, who brought out brownies. Not so healthy…. But, we split them and I am at the point in my weight loss that I can be okay with indulging like that every now and then. Half a brownie isn’t going to kill me. We ended up sitting and talking for a few hours. Mainly about what we are looking forward to (and not looking forward to) this upcoming school year.

When I got back, I checked the mail and I was super excited.

First of all, this came-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s a free pack of gum! I have been on this kick lately of requesting free samples and I get way too excited when they come in the mail. The past 2 weeks, I got this gum, a soyjoy bar, and a coupon for a free pack of Jif-to-go.

Then I got this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s my shirt that I ordered from Skinny Runner. I can’t wait to wear this on a run! It probably won’t be this weekend’s, because it is too hot for me to put on anything with sleeves when I am running, but maybe I’ll throw it on afterwards and snap some pictures.

And last, but not least, these came.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About a month or so ago, I stumbled across this blog during my daily stalking blog reading. I became hooked on her story and her mission to run a Half Marathon in her boots, especially because was donating proceeds to the American Cancer Society. You can read more about it here. I decided to donate money to her cause, which also entered me into the raffle. I was super excited when I learned that I had won a prize in the raffle–these earrings courtesy of Amy at Pretty VonBeads. They came today and they are so pretty. She also sent a little note thanking me for donating. So thoughtful!

 

What is the best thing you’ve ever won in a blog raffle?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 6:21 pm

    I’m a bit behind but they turned out so cute! Amy does such a great job! Thanks again for donating and entering!

Leave a Reply

