Skip to content

Orange Power

July 31, 2011

Yesterday morning I ran the Bedlam Run. I had been looking forward to the run all summer, even more so within the past month or so when I decided to do the 10k instead of the 5k.

Bedlam, for those of you who don’t know, is the term used by people in Oklahoma and within the Big 12 to describe the rivalry between Oklahoma State University and the University of Oklahoma. The Bedlam Run was put on by the Tulsa Chapters of the Alumni Associations of those two schools. As an Oklahoma State University graduate (Go Pokes!) for both my Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees, I was really excited about participating in this run.

As many people are, Oklahoma is going through extreme heat this summer, so as the days led up to this run, I was really worried. While it started relatively early (7:30), that is still later than I am used to running. It was going to be hot…there was no doubt. And I tend to push myself too hard at the beginning of races, which I knew wouldn’t be good in the heat. Nonetheless, I was excited.

As we thought it would be, it was extremely hot even by 7:30 and the sun was beating down. The run was in downtown Tulsa and had a few hills that were pretty challenging. The 10k course was just the 5k course twice. I knew it would be a challenge to hit that finish line the first time around and know that I had to run the whole course again, but I tried to mentally prepare for it. I felt really good the first 5k and came to the 5k mark at about 31 minutes. The second 5k was a little bit harder. I felt a little nauseous at a few points and thought about walking, but I remembered an article I read that said when you hit that “wall” to run a little faster to break through it. I did that and it really did get me through about the last 2k. I even had the energy to sprint to the finish line. My official time was 1:02:52. I was so proud of that time! I think if the weather would have been a little better, I might have broken an hour.

It was a fun race. It was nice to see all of those people in orange (and ignore those in crimson) and to hear the Orange Power chant as we crossed the start line. And it was nice to get a long race under my belt right before half marathon training starts (tomorrow!).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 9:20 am

    Congrats on a great run! I can’t imagine what it felt like to run a race in this heat!! It should be illegal…jk…but really 🙂

Leave a Reply

