Skip to content

Get it girl

August 6, 2011

What a week it has been!

Tired, exhausting, busy.

It was my first full week back at work at my full time job after a summer off. Monday and Tuesday were spent setting up my classroom and then the kids started on Wednesday.

Observations of my class so far:

-I have a lot of criers this year. Way more than I usually have. It should calm down after a few weeks when they are used to coming to school, but until then, things are a little hectic in the mornings at drop-off time.

-I have a very young class this year. Most of my kids are really young 4’s. Only a few will turn 5 before Christmas break.

-The above means that they don’t sit still for group time very well yet. That means we have been doing a lot of singing and dancing.

-They are super fast at cleaning and lining up, which is a definite plus.

-They are all really cute.

-I only have a few that may have behavior problems, which is also a definite plus.

 

On top of this job, I worked my part-time job Sunday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday nights. I also work today and tomorrow. And this weekend is tax-free weekend in Oklahoma. Oh joy. It has been really hard working 8-4, coming home and changing and then working 5-close. For that reason, I have put in my two weeks notice at Target.

 

On a good note, I have completed my first week of Half Marathon training. I got in my runs before work each day, which meant waking up early, and running around my parking lot with the aid of my new Garmin (love!). I got my first long run in this morning. I will say, I am glad my longer runs will happen this fall when it is cooler. It is just miserable here in Oklahoma, even early in the morning. I wouldn’t skip it for a treadmill run though.

Highlight of the week? The random lady who yelled “Get it girl” at my as I was running one morning. Made me laugh.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 6, 2011 11:08 am

    Great job finishing your first week of 1/2 marathon training!! That’s great!! I agree that it’s great the long runs will come in the fall. Not sure this Texas heat will relent though!!

Leave a Reply

