Skip to content

Lunch with the Family

August 14, 2011

After working until almost midnight last night (last night at Target!), it was extremely hard to pull myself out of bed this morning. All of the lifting and bending at work plus pushing myself on my run yesterday morning also meant that my body was (and still is) feeling extremely sore also. I didn’t want a rough start to get me down seeing as how I’ve been struggling with this bad mood lately. So I reminded myself that I can choose the mood I am going to be in. And I chose to be positive.

Because I was heading to my hometown to my parents’ house for my sister’s birthday lunch, I decided to head down early and go to the church I grew up in this morning. It is so bittersweet every time I go back there. I love those people. They were such an important part of me growing up and finding my way as a Christian. I loved the message that the preacher brought. But in the same sense, it makes me sad to go back because the church is dwindling. It was always small, but it seems to be smaller and smaller each time I go back. And there are no young people there. I fear that it will eventually shut down. It makes me sad.

The birthday lunch went well. I can’t say enough how much I love my family and love spending time with them. And my mom’s cooking is amazing. I’m sure the scale won’t agree tomorrow, but it was so good when I was eating it. I loved seeing my nieces and nephews. They never fail to make me smile and laugh.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And I can’t believe my little sister is 23!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It still seems like yesterday when she was crying and keeping me awake all night. Now she is grown up and married.

Speaking of married. Her wedding pictures came this week. She got married in April and there was a bit of a delay on getting the pictures, but they are finally here. With her permission, I will share a few of my favorites later this week.

I will say she looked gorgeous though.

Off to enjoy the last few hours of my Sunday.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

