Skip to content

Patience

August 17, 2011

Multiple people have told me that I am extremely patient when interacting with kids. For that reason, working in early childhood is a perfect career choice for me. And while I may not want to teach forever, I do want to continue within the field.

I am, however, extremely impatient when it comes to things having to do with my life. I applied for a transfer at my job about a week and a half ago and haven’t heard anything and I’m frustrated. I know it hasn’t been that long, but my impatience is creeping up on me. It’s the same impatience that frustrates me that I am still single when all of my friends are dating. I want that part of my life now. While I got a lot of my personality traits from my dad, my impatience definitely came from my mom. I keep having to remind myself that things will happen when it is time for them to happen. I can’t force them to happen any faster.

Now that I got that off of my chest, I can talk a little about my day.

I got up at 5am to do a 4 mile run. I have been doing my early morning runs around the parking lot at my apartment complex. Even with my newly acquired pepper spray, I still fill safer running close to home where there are lights. This is the longest run I’ve done here though. And it was boring. It took me 9 loops to make it the 4 miles. But it I did it. And I made good time. As a reward, I had a nice bowl of overnight oats with peanut butter when I got finished. I also snacked on a luna bar on my way to work. I have been needing luna bars before I start work to tide me over because of the horrible lunches we are served. For instance, today we had chili, broccoli, crackers, juice, and milk. I don’t know what’s in the chili, so I don’t want to eat it. I don’t do the juice or milk. So I ate broccoli and crackers for lunch. As soon as my kids fell asleep I snacked on an apple and after they went home I snacked on a Fiber One bar. It just doesn’t make for very satisfying eating throughout the day though.

When I got home, I did a Jillian Michaels workout video free from my Cable On Demand. It was almost an hour long and it was challenging. For dinner I had a green smoothie in a bowl (banana, mango, old fashioned oats, peanut butter, spinach, and milk). It was the best color green ever! And it tasted so good. On the side I had an English Muffin. I just finished snacking on some popcorn and just as I finished a crown I had in my mouth just popped out. Now I have a big gap in my mouth and I’m worried it’s going to start hurting. Looks like I’m making a dentist appointment tomorrow. Thinking I may call in to work and try to get in first thing in the morning.

Tomorrow should be a big day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2011 8:53 pm

    I hope your transfer comes through! Would that improve your lunch situation at all?? That doesn’t sound fun!

    Hope the tooth gets fixed and the transfer comes through (or at least some response!) tomorrow! As far as the boyfriend bit… it’ll come… maybe he’ll be at the dentist 😉 Hard to not to sound cliche, but … it will happen!

    • August 17, 2011 9:03 pm

      It would improve my lunch situation. It would get me out of the classroom, which would mean I could bring my lunch. I would love that!

      Thanks for the encouragement. I agree. I just want to hear some response. I hate waiting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

