Skip to content

10 Personal Questions

August 20, 2011

I saw this over at Beth’s Journey and decided it would be something fun to do to let my readers (the few of you who are out there) know a little more about me.

10 Personal Questions

What are you really good at? What are you really bad at?

I think I am really good at working with kids, baking, sticking to plans that I make, and playing board games. I am really bad at waiting, being a good sport when I (or my team) lose, being artistic, and keeping up to date on current events.

Have you ever been in a car accident? What happened?

I have actually been rear-ended three times.

The first time was my Junior Year of college. I was on my way from work to meet my cousin for dinner and to go watch Bedlam wrestling. I slowed down because the car in front of my was turning and I looked in my rear-view mirror just in time to see the car in front of me coming at full speed. Luckily full speed was only about 30. It still gave me whiplash, but luckily didn’t damage my car.

The second time I was in the turn lane and slowing to stop because it was a red light and felt the car behind me hit me. They didn’t realize that I was stopping. Once again, no damage to the car, so I got lucky.

The third time was just last year. I was stopped at a red light and felt the car behind me hit me. I pulled into the gas station and it turns out that there were four cars involved. One car was going so fast that it hit the one in front of it and caused a chain reaction. This one did cause damage to my car and I had to get it fixed.

Why did you attend your college?

There was never any doubt in my mind where I wanted to go to school. I actually only applied to one school. I had been an Oklahoma State University sports fan for as long as I remember growing up and just knew that’s where I wanted to go to school. Luckily for me, when I decided I wanted to study Early Childhood Education and did some research, they had a really good program. I had applied, been accepted, and found out about several scholarships before December of my senior year of high school. That’s how much I knew I wanted to go there. I don’t regret it at all, either. I wouldn’t want to go anywhere else. The four years I was in Undergrad at Oklahoma State were some of the best years of my life. I miss living in Stillwater. I even miss the days of living in the dorms. I loved it there. When deciding on where to get my Master’s Degree, I knew I would choose one of the programs in Tulsa and I just decided it would be easiest to do OSU-Tulsa because my Undergrad credits would easily transfer. I don’t regret that decision either because I truly believe I got a great education.

Describe your morning routine today.

It is a Saturday, and it was pretty typical for a Saturday morning. I got up at 6:00. I put my contacts in, brushed my teeth, and put on my running clothes and shoes. I ate a banana while I was getting my water bottle ready and grabbing my Garmin. I also grabbed a pack of Jelly Belly sports beans on my way out the door. I drove over to the running trail, eating my Jelly Belly’s on the way. My run this morning was 5 miles (in 49 minutes). I then came home and showered before making myself a smoothie in a bowl and an English muffin for breakfast.

Have you ever snooped through someone else’s things? Did you find anything interesting?

I’m not going to lie and say I never snoop. I probably peek as much as the average person, but I don’t think I’ve ever done any major snooping. And I don’t recall anything interesting ever being found.

What do you think happens when you die?

I am a Christian I believe in Heaven and Hell. I’m not going to get into a huge religious discussion on here, but I believe God makes the decision on where we all go when we die. I hope I will be in Heaven.

Are you superstitious?

Not really. I like to say things that have a superstitious background (like knock on wood), and I do cheesy things like make 11:11 wishes and pick up face up pennies, but I don’t really believe any of it is true.

Do people think you are younger or older than you actually are?

I think people think that I’m older than I am most of the time.

How did your parents’ relationship influence you?

I think their relationship has a great influence on me. They have been together 28 years (I think). They were never one of those overly affectionate couples, but I remember growing up there would be little things like seeing them hold hands in the car or always giving each other a kiss before they left the house. They also have a true partnership. My mom does yardwork just as much as my dad does and my dad will step up and do laundry. I feel like they truly care about each other. More importantly, they care about their kids and have always put us first. They have taught me about the importance of family. I know when I find someone someday that I will be able to have that kind of relationship because I have a good model to base it on.

What were the three happiest moments of your life?

Oh goodness. Probably graduating from Oklahoma State, reaching lifetime on Weight Watchers, and (a four-in-one here) becoming an aunt.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2011 2:21 pm

    It was nice getting to know you like this! What flavor of Jelly Belly’s are you liking?

    p.s. congrats to your parents for their successful marriage! That’s so rare these days, but always a beautiful thing!

    • August 20, 2011 7:32 pm

      I’ve been trying the different ones. I think my favorite so far is Fruit Punch. I still haven’t tried any other Gu’s yet, but I bought some of the Espresso ones and a Mandarin Orange one. I’m not going to give up on them yet.

      And thank you. My sisters and I threw them a surprise anniversary party a few years ago and it was nice to celebrate them.

Leave a Reply

