Skip to content

Blogging Confessions

August 23, 2011

Confession: I want to be a better blogger.

I have a few consistent readers. Most of them are my family and friends, plus a few additional people.

But I read all of the blogs out there and I want to be better. I want people to want to read my blog.

I know that there are a few things that I really need to do to improve my blog:

  • I need to really find my niche. I blog a lot about running and weight loss, plus a little bit about my personal life, but I really need to find my place within the blog world and what makes me unique. I read blogs like Marathon Runner and Beth’s Journey who so clearly have a niche.
  • I need to start taking pictures! I have said it before, yet I continue to fail at this. My sister so graciously lent me her camera to use until I buy my own, yet my blog is still pictureless a lot of the time. I think a lot of it has to do with a lack of confidence. I hate pictures of myself, so I don’t really love putting them on there. And then I look at all of the good pictures that other bloggers post and I am intimidated.
  • I need to become more familiar with the technology associated with blogging. Right now, I don’t know much about it. I would love to have a new blog design, but don’t really want to pay for one until I am really sure exactly what direction my blog is heading. Other than that, I know there are so many technological aspects of blogging that would make my blog better.

 

I guess the question is: where do I see my blog heading? I want it to be more than just a place I go to write about my day. I want it to be something that people look forward to reading, like I do with so many blogs-Fitting it All In, Emily in Progress, Skinny Runner, etc.

 

I read countless updates from people who attended the Healthy Limit Summit this past weekend. I would love to attend something like that, but I would have been embarrassed to go and talk about my blog had I gone this year. Maybe that should be my goal-to get to a point that I am proud of my blog and the information I am putting on it.

 

I have a few posts I am really proud of (like this one and this one). Maybe I’ll have more someday soon.

 

Any advice?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. ssnaugher permalink
    August 23, 2011 8:40 pm

    I understand where you are coming from. I just recently started blogging again after a very short run at it a couple of years ago. I have had the same thoughts about it. It has been a great source of motivation for running to be able to read so many that do such a great job through their blog. I think finding your niche and patience are parts that will naturally increase it…. but what do I know 🙂

    Keep it up though!!

  2. danielle permalink
    August 23, 2011 9:11 pm

    Use Vista print to get free cards.
    Keep blogging the way you are. More pictures like you said. Don’t feel foolish if you have to take 40 to get a good one. You look better running than you think you do. Tie your bible verses or song lyrics into your blogging about running. If you seem someone with an awesome design…ask the. How they got it. Most will be willing to share. Love you.

  3. August 23, 2011 10:12 pm

    Thanks for the shout out! It means a lot! I haven’t been blogging for too long and I’m still trying to find my niche too 🙂

    I love the favorite posts you linked to! I think it is important to be honest and open (which you do a great job with!!) and to just share who you are and what you’re learning. We all have so much in common that it is just nice to read and think woohoo I’m not alone! And to learn from each other!

    As far as design, you could change up your theme and make your own header from pictures or graphics. I want to redo mine too, but it is hard to decide what to do! Love your honesty!

    PS You should be getting your gift card soon, it went out yesterday!

Leave a Reply

