Skip to content

Blender Explosion

August 24, 2011

Would you like to know what I’ve been up to today?

I started my day with an early morning 4 mile run. I planned on leaving the confines on my apartment’s parking lot, but true to my blonde roots, I couldn’t figure out how to get the pedestrian gate to open, so I was locked in. Therefore, I was forced to do my run as I have been most mornings. I did try to mix it up a little bit and not run the same loop I’ve been running though. I wanted to take it a little slower because I have been having some pain in my upper quad. I didn’t necessarily succeed in running it slower. I came in at about 30 minutes, even with my gate distraction. My leg hurt quite a bit after my run. I have a rest day tomorrow and I may go ahead and rest Friday instead of doing my scheduled 2 miles if it is still hurting.

As a reward for my run (and prep fuel for my impending dentist visit), I had Overnight Oats in a Jar. Nothing beats this. I’m just sad that it takes so long to get to the bottom of a peanut butter jar (I have to be strict with peanut butter or I’ll let myself get out of control). I drank a Gatorade and had a banana along with it while waiting for my coffee to make.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was at the dentist from 8:30-10:30. You may remember me saying that I had a crown fall out last week. He had to do quite a bit of work on it to get it fixed. Even though he promised it shouldn’t hurt much, my mouth has been hurting all day. This means I’ve spent the rest of my day laying around watching Brothers and Sisters on Netflix.

It also means it hurts to eat. Because of this, I opted for a smoothie for lunch.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pre-Blend- Banana, Frozen Blueberries and Strawberries, Spinach, 2/3 cup skim milk

After blending, I decided it needed a few ice cubes to make it the right consistency. In went the ice cubes. And then this happened.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yeah….the cheap blender fell apart and my smoothie leaked. Luckily I had made a mega smoothie and I was able to save a whole bowl full to eat.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also snacked on some veggie sticks and some goldfish. For dinner, I played it safe again and had soup. I may have frozen yogurt for dessert.

I got a nice surprise in the mail today: A Magic Bullet from my friends Adam and Minnie as a birthday gift/hitting lifetime on WW gift. I am super excited to get it out and use it!

I want to thank everyone who commented on my update yesterday. It gave me motivation to accomplish some things today. #1-I took a few pictures for today. #2-I created a blog header and changed my blog layout. It took me entirely longer than it should have, but it is done and I actually kind of like it. It’s nothing too special, but it is me.

Have you ever had a cooking mishap?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2011 7:42 am

    Sounds like you got the magic bullet just in time 😉 I hope your quad feels better soon! Thanks for sharing- I really enjoy your blog (and the pictures!).

    Warmest Regards!
    Jenny

    PS. I LOVE skippy peanut butter. lol

    • August 25, 2011 7:45 am

      I used to only get Peter Pan, but I wanted something different last time, so I tried the Skippy Natural and I really liked it. My new jar is target brand natural though…we’ll see how it is. It was on clearance, so I couldn’t pass it up, but I’m a little worried.

Leave a Reply

