Skip to content

Early Morning Run Prep

August 31, 2011

Do you prep for your runs ahead of time?

I have been doing my Half Marathon training runs early in the morning. On a typical work day morning, I get up at 6 am, and in order to run before work, I get up anywhere from 5:00-5:45 depending on the length of the run. I would love to do some of my runs after work, but it is still too hot, so I am stuck with early mornings.

Because of this, it is necessary for me to prep ahead of time.

Who am I kidding? I’d prep ahead of time anyway. I pick my clothes out for the next day the night before, kinda like I’m 5 years old. Sometimes I even have a whole week of outfits planned out in my head.

I’m a little OCD like that.

I’ve never denied being a planner though.

So my bathroom counter at night looks a little like this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yeah, I eat my banana in the bathroom while I’m getting ready. Might be a little weird, but it’s the most efficient use of my time. And I try to be quiet so I don’t wake up my roommate.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And the shoes. Right next to the door so I can put them on and then head out.

Because I am completely prepped, I can get dressed, eat my banana and Gu or Jelly Belly’s, brush my teeth, put my hair up, fill up my water bottle, and be out the door in 10 minutes. Super important when you’re pressed for time in the morning!

What do you do to prep for your runs?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 10:18 pm

    I don’t prep to that level, but I do get my clothes ready! If I didn’t I would probably get distracted along the way and never make it outside šŸ˜‰ But I also can’t eat anything before I go or I don’t feel so hot!

    • September 1, 2011 8:01 am

      I used to not eat anything, but then I started feeling weak on my longer runs, so if I am running longer than 4 miles, I try to at least eat a banana. If it is 5 or more, I do a Gu or Jelly Belly’s. I’m not sure if I’ll have to add anything else when I get to more mileage or not.

  2. August 31, 2011 10:19 pm

    P.S. I’m lovin the new blog look šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

