Skip to content

Just a Dream

September 1, 2011

Last night I had a dream.

In the dream, I was running with my cousin/friend, Adam.

Why we were running together, I don’t know.

This wasn’t even a normal run. We were running on the tops of buildings. Much like the buildings you would find in a big city. Picture an action scene in a movie where someone is trying to escape by running and jumping over buildings of varying heights.

( source )

That’s kind of like what we were doing.

Except we were doing it for fun.

And then along behind us came a man who wanted to run with us. We came to a building where we would have to jump up quite a big higher than where we were. Adam went first and made it. The man running with us went next.

Then it was my turn.

I had no doubt in my mind that I could make it. I was excited for the challenge. But this man reached out his hand to me to offer help and I took it.

It was in that moment that I knew he was something special to me.

He was someone that I was willing to let help me, even though I was capable of doing it myself. Even though I am strong and capable and independent, I was willing to give that part of myself to him.

I woke up hopeful that I will find that someday.

Being single isn’t always bad.

Sometimes it’s nice to dream.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

