Skip to content

I’m not as “healthy” as you.

September 7, 2011

I have been slacking on updating this week.

I think it is partly because I have been throwing the idea of this update around in my head for a while and I really wanted to make sure it came out in the right way.

When I first started reading “Healthy Living” blogs, I felt two things: enlightened and intimidated. I found this whole new community of people out there who blog about ways that they are living for the betterment of themselves through eating and exercise. And it truly is a community. I have seen the support that they give to each other and the friendships that are made. I found a lot of great recipe and food ideas and even workout inspiration. I wanted so badly to be a part of this community of people. Yet, at the same time, I felt intimidated. I realized that my thoughts about food were different than most of these bloggers. I felt intimidated by how tech savvy they all were. Yet, I vowed to do what I could to fit in.

But after reading a few people’s blogs the past few weeks about really embracing the differences that we all have, I realized that I don’t have to be the same as these people.

I won’t ever be the same.

So here are my confessions:

I will never be a vegetarian. Nor do I have a desire to be one. While I love fruits and vegetables and find protein in many other forms, I also love meat. And I don’t see anything wrong with eating it. My dad is a rancher and I grew up watching animals being raised humanely, with the purpose of being sold or used for meat.

I love food that is bad for me. I don’t eat only organically because it is too expensive. I love fried foods and candy. Even though I have lost 147 pounds, I will never be someone who tells you that those foods don’t taste good anymore. I still like them. Do I eat them as often as I used to? Definitely not. They are a rare indulgence, and I am okay with that. Guess what? I eat TV dinners and drink diet pop, too!

I am a horrible exerciser. I love running. I could run every day and be happy. As far as other exercise…I could care less. I know there is importance in strength training, but I lack the motivation to really give it my all. I don’t try new workouts because I don’t have the money and I would rather be running.

So there it is.

I may not be as “healthy” as some people out there, but this is me.

I love learning about the different ways that people eat and exercise. I love seeing how these things fit into the very different lives of people.

And I hope that someone learns something from me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 5:10 am

    Oh, I love that saying in the picture so much. Nothing good can ever come with comparing ourselves with others.

    Healthy looks different for everyone.

  2. September 12, 2011 10:55 am

    Love this post! And so true, each person’s healthy should not be anothers 🙂 As long as we continue to be sure we are individually healthy we don’t need to compare to anyone else’s definition!

    • September 12, 2011 4:14 pm

      That’s kind of how I feel too.

      Also, I promise I am going to blog about your Whole Foods giveaway. I have been super busy lately and haven’t made it over there to use my gift card yet. Plus I’ve been a little MIA from my blog. But it’s coming, I promise!

Leave a Reply

