Skip to content

New PR

September 17, 2011

This morning I did the Susan G. Komen run in Tulsa for the 2nd year in a row.

 

This year, this run was moved to a new location in downtown Tulsa. I knew going into the run that I wanted to push myself and to try to beat my previous PR (27:49). I also knew this was going to be tough. Downtown Tulsa races are usually tough because they are hilly. This is a huge race and I knew I would have to fight around people. My leg pain has gotten better, but it usually worse when I try to run fast.

Excuses, excuses.

My roommate and I got to the run this morning and lined up with the 9-minute mile pacing start. The weather was perfect this morning. We got rained on while driving there, but the rain stopped and it was a cool 60 degrees.

We started the run and I felt great. I was able to weave through people pretty easily. I checked my watch a few times throughout the race and was happy to see that I was keeping a really good pace. For most of the race, I was right around 8:30. I went below it a few times and above it a few times, but I held pretty close to it.

I didn’t have much energy to kick it at the end because I had run so hard for the entire race, but when I got close enough to see the clock, I could see that I was going to cross at right under 27 minutes. And I did! According to my Garmin, I finished in 26:39. I’m not sure what my official time is because they haven’t been posted yet, but I will take it.

PR crushed!

http://connect.garmin.com:80/activity/embed/114990618

 

Now I am home, watching College Gameday, dressed in my Orange, counting down the hours until the OSU/TU game tonight. Did I mention I get to go to the game tonight?

Super excited!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Go Pokes!

 

Leave a Reply

