Skip to content

Why I Love Being an Aunt

November 13, 2011

Today we took family pictures. More specifically, we took cousin pictures. A few years ago my sisters, brother, cousins and I decided a picture of all of the Grandkids would be a perfect Christmas present for my Grandma and Papa. And it was.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My brother even used wood from a fence at my Grandparents old house to make the picture frame. They loved it.

It’s been a few years, however, and we have gained a few more spouses and kids. So we decided to update the picture for Christmas this year. Selfishly I am really happy because I am now about half the size I was in the original picture.

Even with all of our busy schedules, we were able to coordinate some time today to take the picture.

That means that I got to see my nieces and nephews. Now that I live an hour away, I don’t get to see them near as often as I want to, so I am always extra excited when I get to.

I have two nieces and two nephews. Zoe is 8, Zander and Zavier are 3, and Alexia is 2.

Each time I see them I am reminded why I love them so much.

Today, Zoe reminded me so much of myself when I saw here reading a book, unable to put it down because she loves reading so much. And she is such a good big sister. She helps out with her little brothers so much.

Zander walked up to me right after they got there and just looked up at me and hugged my leg. He and Zavier are so shy right now that I always worry how they’ll be around me when I haven’t seen them in a while. But for some reason, he just felt like giving a little love, and I will take it any day.

Zavier makes me laugh with the funny little things he says, such as yelling at everyone that “that’s not a tractor, it’s a bulldozer” when they tried to distract him for the pictures. And I love his cute little smile as he walked around and plopped down in the middle of the tall grass.

I love hearing Lexi’s laugh, just like I heard it today as she jumped up and down with me before the pictures. And it amazes me how long she can entertain herself with the simplest things, like picking up rocks and throwing them. But my favorite thing was having her lay her head on my chest after taking pictures and just knowing she loved me and felt safe enough with me to do that.

 

I do want to have kids of my own. And someday I will. But for now, I will cherish every moment that I get to be an aunt.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

