Skip to content

Christmas Questions

December 19, 2011

25 Questions: Holiday Style

  • Eggnog or hot chocolate?

Hot chocolate. I’ve never had egg nog, but it just does not sound appealing to me at all. I don’t have hot chocolate very often either, but given the option, that’s definitely what I’d choose.

  • Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?

Most of Santa’s presents were always unwrapped sitting under the tree. Mom and Dad’s presents were wrapped.

  • Colored lights on tree/house or white?

Right now I have colored on my balcony at my apartment and white on my tree. I actually like both, but I think the white look good with my green and red ornaments.

  • Do you hang mistletoe?

I don’t. And I actually don’t know anyone who does. Maybe I should hang some up so I can get a mistletoe kiss though!

  • When do you hang your decorations up?

I usually put them up right after Thanksgiving. I would put them up earlier if everyone wouldn’t give me such a hard time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A few decorations

  • What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?

That’s an easy one. My Grandma’s homemade Turkey and noodles. She rolls them out herself and makes them every year before Thanksgiving. If we’re lucky, we get some on Christmas too.

  • Favorite holiday memory as a child?

I have so many. There were all of the Christmas Eves that my sisters and I stayed up into all hours of the night. There were Christmas mornings opening presents at the crack of dawn and then playing with all of our toys until we went to my Grandparents. At the Grandparent’s, we always met up with our cousins to talk about all of our new presents.

As far as specific memories, I remember the Christmas that my Mom got my sisters and I TVs for our rooms and she set up a scavenger hunt for us to find them. There was a Christmas where it was warm enough that we got to play wiffle ball outside on Christmas Day with the cousins. There were all of the Christmas songs and poems my Cherokee cousins, my sisters, and I would put on each year for our parents.

So many memories.

  • What is on your Christmas wish list?

I have everything I could ever want this year, so I asked for practical things like new khakis for work and dress clothes for leading Weight Watcher’s meetings. And workout clothes. Boring…I know.

  • Do you open a gifts on Christmas Eve?

No. I think I may start that tradition when I have my own kids, and let them open one present. But my family has always done them all Christmas morning.

  • How do you decorate your Christmas tree?

My tree right now has white lights with bright green and red ornaments and a few orange OSU ornaments thrown in as well. It has a glittery red star on top.

At my parent’s house, we always have a tree with ornaments we’ve collected throughout the years. I can’t wait to go home next weekend and see it!

  • Snow? Love it or dread it?

Love Love Love it! I love the way it looks. I love to walk around and play in it. And, I love that I get out of work if we get enough of it since I’m a teacher.

  • Real tree or fake tree?

Real. There’s just no comparison.

  • Do you remember your favorite gift?

Oh goodness. I don’t know. I have gotten so many great gifts throughout the years. I don’t think I could pick just one.

  • What’s the most important thing about Christmas for you?

Family. Yes, it is important to remember the reason we celebrate Christmas, but I was always taught to celebrate Christ’s birth all year long, so what makes this season extra special is the fact that I get to spend so much time celebrating with my family.

  • What is your favorite holiday dessert?

Um….any and all? Haha. I love desserts. Pumpkin pie is my favorite, but I also love cookies and all of the homemade candy.

  • What is your favorite tradition?

Christmas Eve Eve with my cousins. We pick one of our houses and all stay the night. We always find something fun to do together. Also, getting up early to open presents on Christmas morning. And then eating a slice of my mom’s banana nut bread.

  • What tops your tree?

Mine right now is a red glittery star. It matches the ornaments. My roommate and a hunted up and down to find it last year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This was our tree last year. It looks pretty much the same this year.

  • Do you prefer giving or receiving?

Giving. I love seeing the look on people’s faces when I really picked the perfect gift. It doesn’t always happen, but I love it when it does.

  • What is your favorite Christmas song?

O Holy Night. Even more specific, I love Martina McBride’s version the best.

  • Candy canes, yuck or yum?

Yum! I love them.

  • Favorite Christmas movie?

Home Alone 1 and 2. You can’t go wrong with the classic tale of a kid getting revenge on a couple of robbers. (We’re going to pretend like Home Alone 3 never happened).

  • What do you leave for Santa?

We used to leave him cookies and milk.

  • Do you have a Christmas morning tradition?

My dad has to be at work early on Christmas (he’s a rancher) so that he can be off by noon to go to my Grandma’s for lunch, so we get up super early and open presents. We all pick a spot on the dining room floor and pass out presents and then open them together.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My sister and Lexi opening presents last year

  • Do you prefer to shop on-line or at the mall?

I’d rather by presents at the store, but definitely not the mall. I do some online shopping, though.

  • Christmas letter or Christmas card?

I usually do cards, though I’ve failed this year. I’m sure once I have a family, I’ll do a letter though. I like reading other people’s Christmas letters.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

