Skip to content

Running in the Cold

January 5, 2012

I didn’t realize how hard it would be to get out of bed and run on winter mornings. Even on winter mornings that are a relatively mild 31 degrees.

But it has been hard for me. I have been skipping one run a week. I know it’s probably okay because I’m running 5 days a week and I am not skipping my long runs.

But it’s frustrating because I was so good about sticking to my Half Marathon plan.

It is just hard to get out of my warm bed and into the cold in the mornings though.

I need to change my mind frame and just do it. I never regret it once I’m out there. I ran 6 miles this morning and felt great afterwards.

Any tips for getting out of bed into the cold?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2012 11:16 pm

    I can’t stand the cold…that’s why I’ve started using the treadmill.

    • January 6, 2012 8:21 am

      I’ve been trying to save the treadmill for when winter really hits. I tend to get bored on it, so I want to run outside as long as possible, but I love that is an option!

  2. January 6, 2012 6:57 am

    I find it hard to run @ any time of the day during the winter…

Leave a Reply

