Skip to content

Fundraising

February 1, 2012

There are days that you remember every detail from. Some of them are really good days, but a lot of times they are really bad days.

I often hear people saying, “I remember exactly where I was when I found out about the planes on September 11th.” And the truth is, I do too. It’s the same kind of memory that is attached to every single death of someone that was close to me. I can remember minute details of those days and moments. I don’t know why that is.

As an Oklahoman, the same kind of feeling is attached to April 19, 1995, the day that the Murrah Building in Oklahoma City was bombed. The day that 168 Oklahomans lost their lives. I was in the 4th grade and I remember walking into a classroom where a TV was turned on with the news. As a 4th grader, my first thought was “my sister was just in Oklahoma City last week with the 5th graders visiting the Capitol Building.” So as soon as I saw her, that’s how I related the news. It is funny that is my memory of that day, but that is what I remember.

In High School, on a trip with my school’s band, we visited the memorial museum. I will never forget the feelings that went through me walking through that place. Feelings of sadness and anger and hurt. But also feelings of pride in the way that people reacted on that day. I learned a lot on that day.

I want to share that knowledge with others.

When I decided to run the Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon, it was because there are only two marathons in Oklahoma and this is the one in the Spring. But as I looked deeper into it, I realized I wanted to try to do something good as a way to give back. Because of this, I created a fundraising page.

I realize there are causes that mean a lot to people, and this one may not be one that you have a personal connection with. But trust me when I say that it means a lot to many people. The money I am raising will go towards education. Educating others about this is important to me.

If you have any money to spare and would like to donate, please visit my fundraising page here.

If you don’t have money to spare, would you mind passing on the link to my page?

Thank you!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

