Skip to content

Not Running.

February 11, 2012

I love starting off my Saturdays with long runs. I get to go out and clear my head, get an awesome workout in, and come back ready to face the day.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get to get my run in this morning.

I woke up yesterday with a lot of pain in my left calf. It feels almost like a really tight leg cramp that just won’t go away. I went ahead and did my scheduled 4 mile run and it really didn’t hurt any worse while I was running. But it continued to hurt all day long. And I woke up in the middle of the night last night to go to the bathroom and it was really really painful. So much so that I had to limp to get there. It made sleeping difficult. I got up with every intention of running my long run this morning anyway. I was going to do treadmill so that if it got too bad, I would just cut the run short.

But then I started thinking about it. I have a tendency to run even when I am hurt and it has sometimes led to me hurting myself worse. So I looked at some stuff online and after deciding I may have strained a muscle in my calf, I opted to not run. If it feels better tomorrow, I will go ahead and knock out a few miles. If not, I’ll rest a few more days. As much as I hate deviating from my training plan, I know it’s what I need to do.

At least it happened during a taper week. I was only supposed to do 12 miles, after doing 15 last Saturday. So hopefully I’ll still be able to knock out 16 miles next Saturday even if I don’t get this run in.

It does make for a frustrating start to the day, however. It threw everything off. But I’m trying to remind myself it is the best thing for me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2012 3:18 pm

    I definitely know that feeling of trying to push through even though you are hurting. It’s honestly so much better if you rest and stretch it out. I hope you feel better! 🙂

Leave a Reply

