Skip to content

Hard Runs

February 19, 2012

Yesterday I ran my furthest distance ever. 16 miles!

Unfortunately, it wasn’t really wonderful.

I started off feeling really good. The weather was mild when I started-about 50, so I decided to run without my gloves and headband. I made it through the first 3 miles feeling really strong. Right before 3, I accidentally hit a button on my watch that messed it up, and I stopped for about 30 seconds to restart it. I continued running, feeling strong, did a Gu at mile 4, and then at about 4.5 I messed up my watch again (you think I would have learned to lock the bezel the first time, but no). I took a few seconds and restarted it, and then locked it.

I kept running. My legs were still feeling pretty strong, but my head wasn’t completely in it. The watch thing had just distracted me and I was frustrated with myself. But I was determined to keep going.

 

As I started getting further into the run, probably about 6 miles in, I realized it felt like it was colder. The wind was blowing and it was starting to sprinkle. Just another distraction, right?

I made it to the halfway point and turned around. I wasn’t in the best mood, but my legs were feeling okay. And then I hit the big hill at mile 10. It was from about that point forward that my legs were just done. They felt like jello on any slight hill. There were so many times that I just wanted to stop and walk.

 

But I didn’t. I stopped at the stoplights. And let me tell you, I was extremely grateful for those few stoplights. But other than that, I kept going. I felt like I was barely going. I kept telling myself “just keep going. just keep going”. And I did.

And I finished. I completed 16, miserable, rainy, windy, pain-filled miles.

The important part is that I finished it.

 

I think it was a combination of things that made this run so difficult.

1-I didn’t get my long run in last weekend because my leg was hurting.

2-I didn’t really follow my training plan this week, although I did get the majority of my miles in.

3-I let myself get inside my head. All it took was a little shake up with my watch messing up, and for some reason I just couldn’t get over it.

 

Next weekend is 17 miles. I hope it goes much better. I need it to go much better.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

