Skip to content

Body Issues

February 27, 2012

Prepare yourself. This is not going to be a happy post.

I am happier than I have ever been in just about every aspect of my life right now, but last night something really started bothering me. I guess it’s been bothering me for a while.

Even though I lost so much weight, there are still parts of my body that I absolutely hate. I know it is normal for people to criticize themselves pretty harshly, and most of the time I can ignore these thoughts and move on, but for some reason I really focused in on them last night.

There is one part of my body that especially bothers me.

My stomach.

Because I carried so much weight around for so long, I have loose skin on my stomach from my weight loss. I know there is still fat on my stomach I can lose, too, but some of it is simply skin. I lost my weight slowly, so I was lucky to not have more loose skin than what I have, but it is there.

And it is ugly.

I will never be a girl who can wear a bikini, or work out in just a sports bra and shorts. And that’s fine with me. But I just wish I didn’t hate the way it looked so much.

There is conflicting information online about what (if anything) will help get rid of this, other than surgery, which I don’t want.

Some information says doing ab work will help, and others say it won’t. A lot of it is the diet, but I follow most of the diet rules already. Skin tightening lotions and compression clothing is suggested. Drinking a lot of water, which I already do.

I’m going to start doing ab work in the hopes that it will help a little bit and am considering doing the lotions and compression clothing.

But I just don’t know that anything will help.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2012 4:54 pm

    I am sure you are as beautiful outside as you are inside! Even when I was training for the marathon and losing weight despite eating everything in sight I still felt fat sometimes. Then I saw photos of myself in a bathing suit and realized I was TOO THIN. No matter how in shape or slim I get, I will still have fat days and not like parts of my body. Don’t get hung up on that stuff. Focus on the parts you love!

    • February 27, 2012 6:51 pm

      Thanks! It is helpful to look at old pictures and realize how far I’ve come. And most of the time I’m really happy with it. It is really important to focus in on the parts I love though!

  2. February 29, 2012 9:48 am

    I think sometimes that when we workout or decide to “get healthy” we become even more aware of our faults. We spend so much time attempting to sculpt our bodies into the perfect image in our minds. However, the reality is that we will never be exactly what we want. I always say that I will look back at myself when I am 60 and I will wish for the day that I looked the way I do now. We always forget to enjoy what we have in the moment and we spend so much time looking forward, waiting for that perfect “happy” moment. I often wait for my body to be more toned and “look,” as I say, “like I workout.” But, what does that even mean anyway? What matters is that I am healthy and that I feel more confident. I know it’s easy to say, oh you look great don’t worry about how your stomach looks. But, I am not you and I know it is bothersome when you put in all the hard work and it doesn’t seem to pay off. But, it really has paid off for all of us. We have built so many memories and through the process of transformation we have grown as individuals. That is when we find true contentment. You have transformed into a runner and an even healthier person. Many people find it difficult to even get to that point in life. It’s so awesome how far you have come and how much further you will go. šŸ™‚

    • February 29, 2012 7:09 pm

      Thank you so much for the thoughtful comment. I really have come a long way and running has been a huge part of that. It helps to look back on it sometimes and realize how far I have come.

Leave a Reply

