Skip to content

Don’t Give Up

March 10, 2012

I have another running injury.

The past few months of running have been constantly plagued with pains. Each time in a different spot. Each time crushing my spirit just a little bit. Causing me to miss runs or cut runs short.

But each time It ends up feeling better and I’m back on track.

 

I had an amazing long run last weekend. Back from knee pain the week before. I ran Monday and felt great. Then Tuesday came and I couldn’t get through my 8 miler. I had pain in my left leg that I have self diagnosed as ITB pain. It is the same as the pain I had last year in my right leg. I had to do a few months of physical therapy for that one.

I have managed to get in a few miles this week and spent way more time than I’d like to on the elliptical. I have iced, foam rolled, and done all of my stretches they taught me in Physical Therapy last time.

Still have pain. I only got 20 minutes in on the elliptical this morning before it started hurting too bad to go on. So I came home and iced and foam rolled. Luckily this was a taper week, so I only missed a 12 mile run. Next week is supposed to be 17 though. And I don’t know how I’m going to do it.

I think my heart wants to run this marathon more than my body does.

There’s no turning back now though. Entry fee paid. Hotel room booked. Hopes high.

I will finish it even if I have to walk more than I run.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

