Skip to content

Updates

March 23, 2012

It has been a while since I’ve updated my blog. I could say I’ve been super busy, and that would be true. But mainly, I just haven’t been motivated to update. I am living life to the fullest, and that is really good (I am so happy lately), but also bad (I know I gained weight this past weekend, but refuse to get on the scale).

First, a running update. A few weeks ago I started feeling leg pain during one of my runs. I tried to push through it, but couldn’t. I took a day off, and then tried to start a long run on the treadmill. After a few steps, I was in horrible pain and stopped. I got on the elliptical for a little while until that hurt too. I took a few days off, and then tried to run. Same thing. This cycle happened a few times. Last Wednesday, after a few days of rest, I attempted to do a run, but basically had to limp back to my apartment. The next day, I called a sports medicine doctor and made an appointment. I rested Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and Monday. And then I got on the treadmill Tuesday and did 2 miles with no pain. There was a slight pain after, but I iced it and it felt better. So I did two miles again on Wednesday and then did four yesterday. No pain. I decided to keep my appointment just to be safe.

This morning I ran 2 1/2 miles before my appointment. The appointment went really well. They took x-rays and then the doctor came in. I knew immediately I had made the right choice by calling a sports medicine doctor instead of my primary care. He asked the right questions, did several tests of my movement and strength, and talked to me about my injury. Best of all? He never seemed to be judging me like my PCP did when I had previous injuries. He understood my need to exercise and run. And he wants to work with me so I can do the marathon. He first thought it was my ITB (like I did), but then said he was worried it could possibly be a stress fracture. He said he rarely sees stress fractures in that spot though. I have been given the go ahead to up my mileage back up slowly. At the first sign of pain, I’m supposed to call him though.

Best case scenario- it doesn’t hurt anymore and it’s an unexplained injury, which means I can do the Marathon.

Worst case scenario- it starts hurting again and is a stress fracture. That would mean I have to take off running for a while. No Marathon.

I’ll keep you updated.

 

As far as the weight loss and eating situation…

I had been back on WW hard and heavy for a few weeks, losing back some of my gained weight. And then I couldn’t run. And then I went to Dallas to visit friends this weekend. I didn’t eat terribly, but I was more lenient with my diet (pizza and fast food). And I drank…kind of a lot. When I got back to town, I had two good days, but now I’m craving sweets again and I am going out of town this weekend again.Wish me luck!

The thing is, I’m not going to stress out about it too much. I am going to do my best, but try to listen more to my body and not worry so much about the number on the scale.

On a semi-related note, I remeasured myself and I am 5’5″ instead of 5’4″. This means my goal weight can technically be 4 pounds heavier than what it is right now. That explains why I plateaued when I initially got there. Not sure what I’m going to do about it exactly. We’ll see. Like I said, I’m not focusing on the scale right now.

Highlights of my weekend in Dallas:

Meeting the boyfriend’s parents.

Spending a lot of time with my best friend and her husband.

St. Patrick’s Day parade and block party.

Dominating bowling (I won two out of three games)

Golfing for the first time.

What running injuries have you had? How did you work your way back into running?

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 23, 2012 11:02 pm

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

Leave a Reply

