Skip to content

Reality

March 27, 2012

I did a 5 mile run this morning. It’s the longest I’ve run in about 3 weeks.

I ran at a pretty good pace, not intentionally, but because it’s what felt natural.

But by about mile 4, I was dying. I didn’t realize that taking a running break for a few weeks because of injury could totally kill my endurance. And maybe it hasn’t. Maybe today was just one of those runs.

But, it really got me thinking about this marathon. It is about a month away and it is going to be a struggle to get my endurance back up. Especially if my leg bothers me at all (knock on wood that it doesn’t). I have been considering the option of doing run/walk intervals. I had initially planned on running the whole marathon without stopping, but had recently decided that because of my injury, if I needed to walk I would.

Then I read this post from Scott at iRunnerBlog and I began considering doing intentional walk/run intervals for the marathon. Do I really want to? No. Is it the smartest thing for me to do? Maybe. I’m going to give myself a few weeks to try to build my endurance back up and to do some research about intervals.

And to completely wrap my head around it.

I’m not sure if I’ll feel like a true marathoner if  I walk part of it. I only planned to do a marathon one time. If I have to walk this one, will I find the need to train for another one just to prove I can run the whole thing? Can my body handle a marathon?

We’ll see.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

