Skip to content

Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

April 8, 2012

People often ask me what I think about when I am running.

I made the decision a while ago to stop running with music. While I understand why people like running with music, I decided it wasn’t for me.

And the truth is, I think about several things when I am running. I think about things that are going on in my life…work, people, finances, etc. I think about how my body is responding to the run and how it feels. Sometimes I have a song stuck in my head and I will sing it to myself. Lately, I think a lot about my upcoming marathon.

And then there are mantras or techniques to help me through my runs.

Sometimes I will count (sounds weird, but it distracts me on hard runs). I will repeat phrases to myself (“just keep going”, “you’re almost there”, “you can do it”).

Yesterday, while doing my first 20 mile run, this is what popped into my head.

 

I just kept repeating it to myself. I have always been aware of this bible verse (Psalms 139:14), but I wouldn’t say it is one I think about a lot. But for some reason it popped into my head. It was right about mile 16, and it really helped push me through those last few miles.

And how true is it? God made our bodies in a way that they are able to do amazing things. I ran 20 miles yesterday. That is so crazy to me. But God knew my body could handle it. He made me that way.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2012 9:15 pm

    I have my first marathon coming up in six weeks! I don’t run with headphones either… my mantra is: up and over! (I’ll be running a HILLY course in Vermont).

Leave a Reply

