Skip to content

Fall Races

August 19, 2012

Now that I’m back to running (even though I still struggle sometimes), I am getting really excited about some of the races I want to do this fall.

But before I get into that, I want to update you on Friday’s weigh in.

Highest Weight-293.6

Lowest Weight-146

Restarting Weight- 172

Last Week’s Weight-169.4

This Week’s Weight-168.6

Loss- 0.8
I definitely had some highs and lows this week, but through it all, I am glad to see the scale going down, even if it is going slowly. Even if it takes a while, the important thing is that I am more conscious of the choices I am making. Even when they are not necessarily great. Hopefully I will able to maintain the weight loss when I get back to where I want to be since I am doing it this way.
Now for the racing-

Spring racing season is by far my favorite and I completely missed out on all of my normal 5k’s because of Marathon training. So, this year I am embracing the fall racing season and trying to find as many races as I can that will be halfway compatible with my Half Marathon training schedule.

Here are some of the races I’m thinking.

September 8

Run for the Children

I want to do this race. It is a 5k and it is for a great cause. I’m not sure if it will be able to fit into my schedule because I have something else I may be doing that day, but it is definitely on my radar.

 

September 22

Tulsa State Fair Corndog Classic

This is purely a fun run. I wanted to do it last year, but couldn’t work it out. I am going to figure out how to fit it in this year.

Off of the Tulsa State Fair Website-

Indulge in favorite fair foods before Opening Night!  Participants must FINISH a Corndog, Lemonade/Beer (21 & Over) and Cotton Candy during the race.  One of each item will be placed at mile marker water stops, mile 1, mile 2 and the finish line; serving sizes are proportional for race consumption

 

October 27

Tulsa Run

I did this run two years ago and it is still one of the favorite runs I have done. I am really excited that I will be able to do it again this year. It is a 15k run and it really works out well with my Half Marathon training.

 

November 18

My Half! Last year was my first time running this race, and my first and only Half Marathon. I had a great experience with this race. I don’t expect to run it as fast as last year, but I am really excited to get to do it again.

 

There are a few other races that I may throw in, but these are the ones I am really looking at leading up to my Half. I can’t wait!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2012 5:47 pm

    The state fair run sounds so awesome!

Leave a Reply

