Skip to content

Running, Racing, Restarting

November 17, 2012

Tomorrow I am going to run the Route 66 Half Marathon. I ran this race last year as my first Half Marathon. At the time, I was in the best shape that I have ever been in. I trained well and was conditioned and well prepared for the race. Because of this, I ran the race several minutes faster than I thought I would and ended up with a time of 2:02.

It is still hard for me to believe how much this year is from last. I wasn’t really in great shape at the start of training, but I decided to go ahead and give it a try this year. I have been doing 6:1 Run/Walk intervals and it is going well. I am proud that I have stuck with it although I am frustrated that I won’t be running all the way through.

The most positive thing to come from this training is that I have slowly started building my endurance back up. When I started training, I could only run 1.5 miles without having to take a walking break, which was discouraging. Now, I can do 3 miles. It may not seem like much, but it is a start.

My plans after this weekend are to take a few days off and then focus on running 2-3 miles several days a week. In a few weeks I will start 15k training. The plan I found starts with a long run of 2 miles, so it should be easy for me to use. And then possibly another Half and/or Full Marathon in the next year. I want to get back to where I used to be.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

