Skip to content

Memories

November 24, 2012

My blog isn’t cooperating, so be prepared for a wordy post with not many pictures.

The Holiday season always makes me think of memories I had growing up. My family never had much money, but honestly I didn’t realize it until I was in my late teens. Because of all of the great experiences I had, I never felt like I was missing out on anything.

I didn’t get to go on extravagent family vacations every year, but I did get to experience road trips. Whether it was 4 hours in the car to visit my Mom’s side of the family, weeklong trips to Branson, or a looong drive to Minnesota, I grew to love those times spent in the car. I still to this day love Branson and the fun things we did there (Silver Dollar City, Ride the Ducks, Dixie Stampede just to name few). And that family vacation to Minnesota is one of the best memories I have with both of my grandparents (paddleboats, sleeping in the camper, fishing on some of the best lakes).

Christmases were always special. My mom absolutely love the Holidays and went all out for them every year. The house was always full of decorations, we had a beautiful real Christmas tree full of ornaments that meants something to us, and even if she had to make sacrifices for months leading up to it, there were always way too many presents under the tree on Christmas morning. Christmas Eve’s were spent baking and having sister sleepovers in one of our bedrooms. And Christmas mornings were spent waking up way too early to open presents before my Dad went to work followed by playing with the new toys we got and then going to my Grandma’s for Christmas lunch with all of the family. To this day, I am grateful for the love of Christmas that my family instilled in me. It was never about the presents or the money, but more about the family traditions.

I love sports more than a lot of people and I can thank my family for this. My mom was an Oklahoma State alumni and fan and my Dad was a University of Oklahoma fan. I don’t know what made me choose Oklahoma State as the school I would cheer for (probably just common sense 🙂 ), but I loved cheering for them. I grew up watching OSU basketball and football which made it that much more special when I got to college and lived out my dreams of cheering for my favorite team every Saturday. My dad also instilled a love of Cardinals baseball in me and I got to live out my dream of seeing a game in person this summer.  And it wasn’t just my parents who loved sports. My Grandma taught me what true dedication was. She was always at my softball and basketball games. But not just mine, she always went to the high school football, baseball, softball, and basketball games. And still goes to a lot of them now. She has a love of sports just like I do.

There are so many more memories I could write about. But more importantly, I want to talk about why I wrote all of this.

One of my biggest flaws is that I tend to find myself jealous of other people way too often. I look at people and get jealous because of the money they have and the things and experiences they can afford. Things that just aren’t a part of my budget right now. And I get mad that I feel this way. I don’t want to feel jealous of the material things that other people have. I never felt like I missed out on anything growing up and I don’t want to feel like that now. I am working hard on remembering to appreciate what I have. I am blessed with so many things because of the way I was raised and because of my parents. I loved every minute of growing up in my family. I couldn’t have asked for anything more.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

