Skip to content

Feeling Good

November 27, 2012

First, an update on Elf for Health. Yesterday was Meatless Monday. I have heard of people doing this before, but haven’t ever really thought of participating. However, because it was Monday’s challenge, I jumped on board. It was surprisingly easy. I don’t typically do meat for breakfast, but lunch and dinner I do. I thought my biggest challenge was going to be going to eat with coworkers for lunch. We had already planned on going, so I didn’t want to back out. The first thing I did to make sure I followed the plan, was to give my input onto where we went. I suggested Panera and they were quick to agree. I was able to get vegetable soup and a ceasar salad. Not only was it fulfilling, but it was also low calorie and full of good stuff! For dinner, I made a baked sweet potato, carrots, and cottage cheese. Day One was successful!

Today we were encouraged to write a letter to a friend or family member. I chose to write a letter to my Grandma. I just saw her over Thanksgiving, but felt like she was the one I needed to write the letter to. She isn’t in the best health anymore and suffers from dementia. It is hard to see her like this. While writing my letter, I was able to remember some of the good memories I have had with her. I definitely teared up while writing it. She has been a strong and influential part of my life and I am so glad I was motivated by this challenge to write a letter to her.

My healthy eating and exercising is definitely back on track also. I have been tracking my calories in My Fitness Pal and making sure I am exercising several days a week. Yesterday I got in a 3 mile run and today I got in some elliptical time and lifted weights. What I am most proud of though, is how I have been planning out my meals and trying to cook more rather than just eat frozen dinners. Even if it something as simple as baked fish and vegetables or a baked sweet potato, it makes me appreciate what I am eating more. It also helps to have people around me eating and exercising as well. Extra motivation is always nice!

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with just one step.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

