Skip to content

2013 Goals

December 31, 2012

I love setting New Years Goals. Here are the ones I have decided on for this year:

 

Do the New Rules of Lifting Program
I have recently started doing weight machines at the gym, but really wanted to branch out into full weight lifting. My boyfriend got me this book for Christmas and I am excited about trying it. It is a 6 month program, and my goal is to finish it.

Try a fitness class at least once a month
Even though I recently joined a gym, I haven’t tried any of the classes. I want to make an effort to try at least one class a month.

Try a new recipe twice a month
I am the queen of pinning things to my Pinterest board and then not using them. This year I want to try a couple of new recipes a month.

Run at least 4 days a week
During Half Marathon and Marathon training, I always ran 5 days a week (at least on the good weeks). I don’t know that I necessarily want to go back to that because of adding in other exercise, but I would like to make sure I am running at least 4 days a week.

Get back into my Size 8 pants comfortably
I don’t want to set a weight goal this year. I am trying to focus less on the numbers and more on getting healthy. But I would like to fit into some of my old jeans. I was really comfortable with my body when I was this size, so I would like to get back to it.

Swim laps at the gym
One of the reasons I really wanted to join the YMCA was that they had a pool, yet I haven’t used it yet. I really want to do a triathlon sometime in the future, but I need to get some swimming experience before I do that.

Apply for promotion if the opportunity presents itself
One of the things I love most about my new job is that there will be opportunities for advancement. I don’t want to let fear hold me back. If an opportunity comes up this year, I want to put myself out there and apply for it.

 

And perhaps the most challenging:

Learn to love my body in spite of  including all of my imperfections.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2012 11:08 am

    I love love love these. They are realistic but def pushing you out of your comfort zone. Can’t wait to hear about your progress

  2. January 4, 2013 10:49 pm

    Hi Lisa, great blog. Thanks for sharing your story with us. These are great goals. I too want to try weight lifting but it seems so daunting,,, I’ve also made a resolution to focus on size rather than weight – its been tough for me to go from weighing myself every day to now once a week – but I know it is better for me.
    Good luck and thanks again!

    • January 5, 2013 10:37 am

      I put off doing weigths for so long! I love running and that’s all I wanted to do. But after getting hurt over and over again, I decided it was time to add some strength in. I did machines first, but it is really nice to have a plan for free weights laid out for me in NROLW.

      Thank you for the comment!

Leave a Reply

